We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in Picton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Echo Lodge to your Saves list
Echo Lodge
5 Rutland Street | Picton, Picton 7220, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place in Picton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stepped off the InterIslander Ferry, picked up our car, and drove the very short distance to Echo Lodge to be greeted by Sharon and Russell. My sister, husband and I settled into our very comfortable rooms. Russell gave us a tour of his wonderful terraced garden and then directed us to walk across the street where we picked up a lovely trail through the yacht harbor and along the sound to Bob's Bay. He also gave us several suggestions for easy walks downtown to very good restaurants for dinner, and excellent Dutch bakery for lunch supplies.Lovely breakfast, laundry facitiy, easy drive to wineries- everything one could wish for in a B&B!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
53
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Echo Lodge for only one night, but now we know where to go when we will be back in Picton! The welcome was warm and when we asked for the washing machine, Sharon immediately took over and took care of our laundry while we could had a look on Picton (this has never happened to us before!) The room was immaculately tidy and our night was quiet. The very cute cat does not enter the rooms, so I could sleep very well (and my allergy to cats is strong). When we left for the ferry, I forgot something which was sent by Sharon directly to the rental car company where we returned the car and were supplied with the missing. Thank you Sharon, this was a great stay at your place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Echo Lodge has everything a traveller could desire - great location, clean comfortable rooms, guest lounge, relaxing outdoor area and hosts who went the extra yard to make our stay a very pleasant one. Sharon and Russell are very knowledgeable about the area and can answer all your holiday questions. The breakfast was amazing - something for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

A beautifully presented and very well run B & B. We couldn't have wished for anything better and would rate it as 5 star accommodation. The welcome was both friendly and warm which made us feel very relaxed after a long journey. The breakfast, included in the price, was excellent. Our hosts were very helpful when we were concerned about our ferry back to North Island.
We would highly recommend Echo Lodge for any traveller - Thank you to our hosts.
The B & B is within easy walking distance of the lovely town of Picton which has plenty of good quality restaurants.

Room Tip: Any room at this B & B would be an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Beautiful Bed and breakfast. Only
5 min walk away from the shops.
lovely set up and amazing hospitality. Will definately stay again on our next trip to the south. Not too expensive either, highly recommend for every one traveling the south.
Thank you ;-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Wonderful B&B run by a charming local couple.
Immaculately clean, great breakfasts and comfortable rooms.
Even though it's a short walk to the main street and/or train station, talk to Sharon about getting a lift if you have any heavy bags.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here one night before heading to a place in QC. Karen was lovely to deal with and super friendly. It is amazing the level of detail that has gone into improving the place. The place was clean, warm, quiet, close to town, great food, and hospitality was perfect. Highly recommend this pace!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Echo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Lodge

Address: 5 Rutland Street | Picton, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echo Lodge is a fully renovated villa overlooking the Picton Marina. It is an easy five minute stroll to the town centre with its many cafes, restaurants and tour operators and a two minute walk to the many bush and waterfront walking tracks in the area. We offer a large healthy continental breakfast which includes fresh fruit,home-made muffins and yoghurt, fresh breads and jams.We have two double rooms and one twin room. All our rooms have ensuites, luggage racks, flat-screen t.v.'s, electric blankets.We have two guest lounges where refreshments are available all day. There is a log-burner in one of the lounges to keep the house warm during the colder months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.