We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, flexible and accommodating.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   33 Wellington Street, Picton 8170, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Quality, flexible and accommodating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we were moving from the South to the North Island and wanted somewhere relaxing to sleep before the ferry journey, and also somewhere pet friendly. We were delayed leaving Chch and didn't end up arriving until 11.30pm. This was no problem, likewise our early start and early breakfast, the leftover pastries were packed up for us to take (we didn't even ask).

Room was lovely and we were made to feel very welcome. Although some reviews complain about the milk on ice, I actually felt that was quite a nice personal touch. We were in the Modern room, which is closest to the bar next door. Again, some reviews have critiqued based on this but I didn't find the noise intrusive, and the bed was so comfy it certainly didn't interfere with my sleep. I have stayed in 5* resorts many times due to job demands and I can honestly say the quality of the room, bathroom and lounge here surpassed anything else and actually cost far less than the suites in mainstream establishments. This is a lovely hotel conveniently located for the ferry, across from a marina and in a busy port town. You won't get a paradigmatic style of decor and service here and even after we left they made time for us when we thought our son's favourite toy had been left behind.

I have absolutely no complaint to make. However, had I had one, the staff were approachable enough that there would be no need to have raised it here without first discussing it with them in person.

I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    12
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
72
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Escape Picton Boutique Hotel for two nights. The rooms are exactly as described in the advertising materiel and are elegantly appointed and provide a good level of comfort. The owner is an outgoing and warm host.

There are however some aspects that are worthy of comment. We stayed in the Sea Room and initially we were confused as to how it got its name. The room is on the ground floor and the windows face immediately on to the street, with no possibility of any sea view. The lack of privacy made us wonder whether the name comes from the fact the passing public can "see" in. We were surprised that a room of this quality did not have air conditioning. For us it meant sleeping with the window open, which possibly compromised our security, and certainly meant a noisy and interrupted nights sleep.

The hotel prides itself on the French style bath in each room. Our room came with a shower device for the bath. We think many guests would have difficulty coping with the high sides of the bath. We were also disappointed with the lack of supplies in the bathroom There was only a large cake of soap, presumably wastefully thrown out after each guest departs, plus hair shampoo and conditioner. We would have expected a French style bath to come with bath salts, gel or foam.

We wonder why the "welcome glass of champagne and fruit platter" became a piece of Christmas cake and water.

We have previously stayed in one of Picton's top motels. There you get a panoramic view of the harbour plus all the same facilities as Escape Picton, although arguably not quite to the same standard. At less than half the price you cannot help but ask which is the better value. Value for money is a very personal thing but we know where we will stay when next in Picton.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I decided to stay a night in Picton before crossing to Wellington and decided to stay here. The owner and her staff were delightful. I am travelling on my own and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. I stayed in the Sea room on the ground floor, which is not the most expensive of their rooms here but it was still excellent - spacious, light, tastefully furnished and with a view to the harbour and a large ensuite with a slipper bath. This was great for soaking in after a hot walk round to Bob's Bay and Harbour view. Dinner was excellent and breakfast too.
Ignore the moaners - chances are they didn't even stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise for our anniversary and our stay at Escape to Picton was perfect. Each room is unique and the interior is stunning. We stayed in the Modern Suite which was very large, almost like an apartment! I would even go as far to say that it is the nicest hotel I have stayed in as it has a very individual and homely feel, yet is still very grand and impressive. The staff are lovely (family run business) and the food is great. I ordered a Thai fish curry for $33.50 - huge portion and a variety of fresh fish. Complimentary breakfast was also fantastic and very filling. Will recommend to all. Laura and Ian, Uk.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I had been looking for somewhere to stay the night since we arrived in the Marlborough region and were not having much luck, most motels/hotels were either full or hideous and then we literally stumbled upon this beautiful little boutique hotel on the quay front in gorgeous Picton.

We were very warmly welcomed and then offered to see the room before having to make a decision, but once we saw the room though it made out decision incredibly easy. Our room, the sea room, was remarkably well decorated and had fantastic facilities, including a free standing bath and massive king size bed.

Once checked in, by the delightfully friendly owner making us feel like old friends, we were delivered fresh milk and chilled water and left to enjoy the facilities of our room.

After a gorgeous walk to Bobs bay and back we went and sat in the hotels bar where the staff were all so friendly and even provided us some with some wonderful potato skin chips (for free!!!!!!) to help soak up the local wine and lagers that went down very nicely!

We both slept so well in the extremely comfy bed and woke up to the beautiful view of the marina out of our window.

All in all we can't recommend this hotel enough, we would tell everyone to skip through Blenheim and head straight to Picton to enjoy the gorgeous walks, boat trips and this gem of a hotel!!


  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zusmarshausen, Deutschland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Escape to Picton during our travel trough New Zealand. We had an amazing night in a lovely room with a few over the harbour. We felt really welcome and the staff was nice and friendly. We can really recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Had a fantastic time staying at Escape To Picton in the wonderful Marlborough Sounds in New Zealand. The room was perfectly presented with special attention to detail which created a calm relaxed and romantic air. The staff were knowledgeable, warm and friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant one. I highly recommend this lovely establishment and can't wait to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel

Address: 33 Wellington Street, Picton 8170, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Picton is a beautiful boutique Hotel, in 2010 it won Best new or re-developed hotel in New Zealand for HANZ. We overlook the foreshore and Picton marina. We are also only a 2 minute stroll to the main streets ideally placed to catch all boats to explore Marlborough sounds or wonderful wine tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.