We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   33 Wellington Street, Picton 8170, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I booked direct with Hotel Owner by phone and the I emailed a confirmation to which I did not receive a reply. When we arrived only the cleaner was there and she denied all knowledge of our booking. Fortunately I had emailed a confirmation of our ETA. They eventually found our reservation for a MONTH later in their book. Obviously entered in error.
The owner was ill and the cleaner called the young chef who tried his best. Room was comfortable, food was ok , coffee was dreadful.
No bathroom amenities, no fruit plate etc as per the website.The champagne was sparkling wine.
We would not stay there again and the website is quite misleading.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello Donna B, I spoke with yourself yesterday and your account is quite different to what you have put on here. Yes the date was wrongly put in the book for Feb instead of Jan an honest mistake. I was not here as I said but you said you found the young chef to be not good and told you several stories you found hard to believe he has now left our employ as we said. I have spoken to house keeping and I am not sure what happened except they did not know you were arriving and the suite wasn't finished completely with shampoo etc but as explained if you had asked this would have been quickly rectified. I also said I was sorry you did not enjoy your experience. Kind Regards Juliearna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    12
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
72
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

With a day to spare before our Ferry crossing, we wandered around Picton looking for a restaurant. We made this little treasure of a find, checked the menu and took a chance. The food was excellent, beautifully presented, perfectly cooked and obviously, a great deal of thought and care had gone into each plateful of food. The service was impeccable and friendly, the bill was no greater than the average 'pub-grub', the surroundings were very pleasant indeed and the delightful owner/chef made our evening a memorable experience. We asked if we could lunch there the following day and she opened the restaurant especially for us, preparing another stunning meal. My only regret is we'd booked into a nearby motel before we found this interesting and exceptional hotel. I would highly recommend Escape to Picton to anyone looking for a hotel with a significant difference. The whole experience, a delight.
Janice and David, UK

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hello Janice & David,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here and I was more than happy to open for lunch for you as you were such a delightful couple. We hope you have a wonderful trip around New Zealand and safe travels.

Kind Regards
Juliearna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I am bracing myself for the manager's reaction, cause i'v seen the "professional" reaction to other bad reviews. Pre-emptive strike: First i am sure that i have the right hotel, i travel a lot, had a lot of restaurant dinners and loved the places where we stayed in NZ. And dont mind paying good money for good stuff.
This is an account of our stay at Escape to Picton. It is not a 5 star location and should not be priced like that even 250 dollar is too much for an average, noisy room with a bed that gives you a beak-ache. We had dinner here too and cant agree more that the food is way overpriced. Its good homecooked food not a gourmet meal so price should be around 80 dollar and not 145 dollar.

To be fair : We liked the water in our room and the closeness of the Marina is also cool. You can also see that a lot of love is put in de appearance of this B&B. All in all a fair appraisal!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello I have gone though all our booking and I have now emailed you as our meals are not what you have quoted at all. Our mains are $29 to $34 dollars a main. Most of our guests here have all been over 45 years in age and again as you have considered my reply I am struggling to place you or the suite you stayed in. If you did stay which I believe you didn't why write this???
Kind Regards
Juliearna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Not sure what planet kate8884 is on but these rooms are fantastic large clean and were better than the pictures... a definate must stay! And the views are spectacular from the balconies..... Amazing staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hello Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so delighted you enjoyed your suite here at Escape to Picton. Staff appreciate your kind words and we look forward to your return. Best of luck with your travels.

Kind Regards
Juliearna & Escape to Picton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Despite its rather unfortunate name, Escape to Picton is fabulous! Our room was both charming and luxurious. In fact, it was perhaps the best room that we occupied during a five-week stay in New Zealand. We had the "Formal Suite", which was huge and was decorated in antique splendor. Such a decorating theme could risk being gaudy, but in this case everything was in the best of taste. The service was wonderful, the breakfasts were custom-tailored to our requests, and Juliearna, the owner, was friendly, attentive and very entertaining. Were we returning to Picton, there is absolutely no doubt that we would again stay at "Escape".

Room Tip: The two suites, the Formal and the Modern, while very different, were both huge and well appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Beautifully decorated room. Service in Restaurant was tops as was the food at Breakfast and dinner. Fresh Marlborough Sounds Seafood seems to be a specialty. Yum Yum. Could not ask for anything better. We stayed 2 nights. Loved that you could go onto the Balcony.

Room Tip: Make sure you eat there as well Best in Picton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A lovely evening with good friends and wonderful foreign strangers about to become good friends at this cosy welcoming boutique hotel. Fine wines and lovely food all presented in a welcoming and beautifully appointed setting, inside and out.
Watched the fireworks at midnight from the balcony and had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel

Address: 33 Wellington Street, Picton 8170, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Picton is a beautiful boutique Hotel, in 2010 it won Best new or re-developed hotel in New Zealand for HANZ. We overlook the foreshore and Picton marina. We are also only a 2 minute stroll to the main streets ideally placed to catch all boats to explore Marlborough sounds or wonderful wine tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.