We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Agent Review: AMAZING!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   33 Wellington Street, Picton 8170, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Travel Agent Review: AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on our way through Piciton. We were greeted kindly, taken care of immediately, and found the staff very friendly and polite. The 'Formal Suite' was absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! By far the most gorgeous B&B suite I have ever seen, the French décor was breath taking and the bath was to die for! We enjoyed a complimentary breakfast of fresh strawberry's/kiwi fruit/grapes, served with fresh home made bread, juice, yoghurt, muesli, and fresh lattes. All of the B&B's little touches really impressed us; they turned on our electric blankets, did our dishes, cleared used towels, and refilled our milk jug while we were at dinner (after only being there for a few hours)! We even had a complimentary ipod in our room full of relaxing music....bliss! We felt so looked after and at home, I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    13
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
87
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We thought the previous review was extremely harsh and picky. This hotel doesn't say it will offer welcome drinks or nibbles or home baking so why expect that, particularly if, as is likely, the booking was made through a discount website? We booked through a discount website and were very happy to stay here. The room (the formal suite) was luxurious and beautifully furnished. The bed was one of the biggest and most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bath is huge and wonderful! There is a lovely balcony but too rainy when we were there, but it would make an ideal spot to sit on with a glass of wine. The continental breakfast we were served was very nice, with fresh fruit salad (lots of it), museli, toast and crumpets. You more than get what you pay for here. Our only little complaints would be that it was rather cold in the room, though we appreciated that Juliearna had put the heater on before we arrived (perhaps it needs two heaters, it's such a large room!) and that there was no waste/rubbish bin so we had to be messy guests and leave our newspapers, fruit peelings and tea bags and whatnot rather than disposing of them.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely; the cheapest/smallest is on the ground floor right next to the reception desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After a long delay crossing from north island to South Island we arrived tired at around 9:30pm. We're met by hostess rubbing her hands with glee advising us that although we had booked the downstairs room right on the street front we were lucky enough that she could offer us either of the upstairs rooms for only $75 a night extra. No welcome drink, no nibbles. Fine we took the modern room. Beautiful on first inspection. Lovely bath and shower. No bathroom products included other than two bars of soap. No fridge just small jug of milk in a bowl of ice. No mini bar. No nibbles. Ok we are tired any cranky.
Next morning. No breakfast included. No problem we went exploring instead. Back in afternoon. Bed made. No chocolates on bed. No muffins or home baking anywhere in room. Milk jug sitting in bowl of water.

First look shows high end B&B rooms and pricing to match but no lovely warm hosts to match. No little touches to make you feel welcome. Most impersonal stay we have had throughout NZ. Felt like they were just clutching to drag as much money as possible. only one couple in restaurant both nights we were there. prices looked very expensive and based on service and messiness of whole establishment we did not eat there. Would not recommend. Very nosy bar right beside. If you are just after a lovely room-it has that-but no personality, no soul, no love. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Smallest,noisiest room is the bottom one. Modern room closest to Irish bar next door. Bring ear plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escapetopicton, General Manager at Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hello Review, again you booked via a cheap boking site and breakfast was not included all up the suite was less than $250. There was Shampoo and Conditioner in the cupboard in the bathroom. The sae room downstairs has no noise at all and the formal also occasionally and we do have noise proof windows and shutters there is a little noise from the Irish. We have put in fridges now so this is now dealt with but really expecting nibbles late at night and not wanting to pay I'm unsure of where you have been staying and what hotels small or otherwise feed you for free when you are paying discounted prices already. Escape to Picton Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We made a special trip back to Picton on our South Island visit recently just to visit this gem of a hotel and the lovely hostess Julieanna. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was no longer in operation as not only is the accommodation amongst the finest in the South Island the food was too. Our room though did not disappoint, the fire,bed and spa were just as we remembered and made for a very relaxing night....pure indulgence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at Picton, tired and weary after travelling for a month, and we decided to rest for a night before exploring the South Island and we are so glad that we did, because we found this little gem of a boutique hotel.
We were greeted by Juliearna, the owner, and marvellous hostess. She showed us two rooms, both were absolutely gorgeous, and we decided to go with the bigger room, it was glorious-- the bed was to die for, the bed linen, the beautiful curtains and cushions and the BATH was sublime!!!! We had only had showers for a month and this was pure luxury for us.
I cannot put into words how wonderful this place was, we stayed for two nights and I wanted to stay for ever!!
Breakfast was delicious, everything you could want for and more. Juliearna arranged for us to go to the vineyards, which was also an incredible experience, and she did everything she could to make our stay memorable.
On our month of travels to Hong Kong to Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns etc, this has to have been the best place that we have stayed.
Thank you Juliearna, we will be back.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms, all superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The drinks were awesome the food was breathtaking the view was at its best very cosy very boutique we dressed up and enjoyed we will be back.............the outside court yard is well placed with out door heaters great service a great way to relax

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautiful room - gems dripping off the lamps, chandeliers, jacquard high thread count bedlinen and a slipper bath. All too much? Try the ipod with groovy music, milk to make your own tea and more towels than you can shake a stick at! Lovely, lovely, lovely. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: We were in the Modern but the sea view (don't think it had one) looked great too and our friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.0 mi away
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel

Address: 33 Wellington Street, Picton 8170, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Picton is a beautiful boutique Hotel, in 2010 it won Best new or re-developed hotel in New Zealand for HANZ. We overlook the foreshore and Picton marina. We are also only a 2 minute stroll to the main streets ideally placed to catch all boats to explore Marlborough sounds or wonderful wine tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.