We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glengary Bed and Breakfast

Glengary Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glengary Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Seaview Crescent, Picton 7220, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Everytime i go to New Zealand now, i always make sure i stop with Glenys and Gary at their beautiful home. It's a beautiful location, a warm and comfortable home and you are always made welcome by Glenys and Gary. They are very friendly, informative and go out of their way to make your stay a good one. As you will read in other reviews, they provide so much.

I was a little nervous of travelling on my own, but they put me at ease and gave me confidence. It's like going to see my parents, as they make me feel welcome, spoilt and cosy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night before taking the ferry but wished we could have stayed longer. Our hostess was welcoming and gave us lots of information about what to see in the short time we were there. Lovely guest lounge with the types of books and leaflets that are really useful as well as lots of different types of drinks, biscuits etc. Also a glass of wine in he fridge for us. The view from our room was stunning overlooking Picton harbour. I sat in bed with a cup of tea and watched a cruise ship come in from the Sound into the harbour -where else can you get that view for £70 a night B and B? Most welcoming, spotlessly clean and would come again except it's such a long way. There's a lot to see in Picton and surrounding area so a couple of nights or more would be well worth it.

Room Tip: Harbour view, though I think they all may be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We loved staying with Gary and Glenys, who went "above and beyond" to make our stay comfortable, enjoyable, and memorable. The room was clean, well-equipped and, quiet, with a very comfortable bed. We had a lovely view of the harbor from our window. The upstairs guest lounge was also comfortable, with tea, coffee, and wine available as well as a small fridge to store our own food. Food at breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We didn't miss the hot breakfast we'd had elsewhere--all the homemade goodies more than made up for it. We stayed at Glengary one night before and three nights after we did the Queen Charlotte Track. Glenys did our laundry the first night arrived and had it ready for us before we left for the track in the morning. When she did laundry for us later in the stay, we insisted on putting it on the line ourselves but she made sure it was out of the rain while we were out during the day. We got great advice on where to eat in Picton and the wine route. Glenys is head of the Picton wine club and had excellent advice on wineries to visit and things to see. We had such a lovely time getting to know our wonderful hosts, it was hard to leave. We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Two rooms are en suite, one larger than the other. Both are nice but since they're the same pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The B&B has three rooms, two with en-suite bathroom. Nice view, clean and quiet rooms, one is larger than the other one, same price. Good breakfast and an extra room with a fridge where you will find wine for the guest or where you can store food you bought. You can make tea or coffee. Laundry is possible for a small charge. Walking distance to down-town Picton.The hosts are great and we felt like home. It was hard to leave. We became friends during our short stay. I highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: ask for the largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at The Glengary in December before and after hiking The Queen Charlotte Track and Glenys and Gary kindly let us leave our car there.
A high grade B & B with everything of good quality from the towels and bed linen to the shampoo and body wash (which were good brands rather than the usual wholesale miniatures).
Close to the Town with a lovely view over the harbour.
An excellent guest lounge with coffee,tea and even wine available. During the afternoon some delicious Christmas cake also appeared!
Breakfast was delicious and most of the items on offer were homemade.
Genys and Gary are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. I admired Glenys' bracelet and wondered where I could get a particular charm. Later that night Glenys knocked on our door to say that she had tracked down the charm at a local shop and to my delight had reserved one for me.
We would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

What a great place. Lots of people just pass through after getting off the ferry but we decided to stay for two nights and relax/explore a bit.
The Glengary B&B is a very good place to stay. A short walk from the town centre. Free parking on the drive way. Nice bedrooms with en-suites. A communal lounge for the guests (3 guest rooms I think) with a a TV, a fridge stocked with local wine and attraction leaflets.
Glenys made sure we enjoyed our stay, despite this being the day after the Feb earthquake, and the effect it had on their family. She came to meet us from the ferry and made us feel very welcome. She provided useful suggestions on where to eat/drink and also suggested taking the mail boat trip round the marlborough sounds (which was great). She put on a great spread for breakfast (including cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts etc), which is served downstairs with the other guests.
A lovely place, where a warm welcome is a sure thing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Glengary is a superb bed-and-breakfast located a short walk from the centre of Picton. Our bed-room had a lovely view over the harbour. The bedroom itself was spacious and spotlessly clean with en-suite facilities. Breakfast was self-serve with plenty of home-made items to tempt the palate. Our hostess, Glynis, couldn't have been more helpful. The main purpose of our visit to Picton was the occasion of our younger daughter's wedding. Not only did Glynis sort out "over-flow" accommodation for our older daughter, but she also stored our excess luggage for the two days of the wedding (at a nearby location) and gave us all a lift down to the ferry terminal at the end of the second part of our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glengary Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengary Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Seaview Crescent, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengary Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glengary Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glengary Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.