We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean Stay in Picton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Broadway Motel to your Saves list
Broadway Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   113 High St, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean Stay in Picton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

I stayed at the Broadway Motel in Picton for two nights in early December. My goal was to ride the Queen Charlotte Track, which happily was accomplished. i booked ahead the same day on the property web site and the reservation was there when i arrived.

The motel is very easy to find as you enter Picton. It is located at the top of the main street through town and it is also right across the street from the town New Age Supermarket, so it is quite convenient. It is right on the intersection of the main street and road to the ferry, but i did not find it particularly noisy.

The room was clean and comfortable, if a bit dated. There was a small kitchenette with a microwave (no cooktop or oven). The bed was comfortable, however the TV was very small and difficult to see from more than five feet away. TV was not my prime concern here, though, so it did not really detract from my stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    65
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
123
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed at the Broadway Motel in Picton for one night and enjoyed it thoroughly. Lovely one bedroom apartment with a very large bathroom. Facilities are top class. The kitchenette was tiny, but it was expected. The apartment had a balcony that looked across the hills surrounding Picton. Picton is a lovely spot and this motel is a very short walk down to the harbour. Across the road is a supermarket which was very handy. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night in March - good, clean and quiet accommodation. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed including a small kitchen area with microwave, kettle and toaster. Good location for the inter island ferry – approx 700m walk.
Picton is ok for a one night stay. Would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Great motel, clean and nicely set out, very roomy and modern. Yes the trains are close but they didn't really worry us. The sticking point however was the male manager (owner?) who was very rude and most unhelpful - providing assistance was far too much trouble for him which he made very plain. By the way, if you accidentally break anything, and own up to it, expect to have pay for it (we broke a glass - cost us $5). His attitude left a very sour taste in our mouths, perhaps we struck him on a bad day!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Manager at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2009
Thank you for your feedback, it’s very nice to hear that you thought Broadway Motel was “Great” even though the service did not come up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on the service we provide for our guests and clearly in this case it has not come up to our normal standard.
The mornings are very busy in a Motel and if I remember correctly, on that particular morning you called me back to the office on numerous occasions. In my defense I can only say that I was under a lot of stress at the time, with my wife being away for 4 days, to attend to her seriously ill father in hospital and I was left doing the work of two people. There is no excuse for poor service and on reflection I could have handled this better and will do so in the future. To ensure we do not have a repeat of this issue we have taken on an extra staff member to help in the office.
Lastly we believe in user pays so we do charge for breakages. This is outlined in our terms and conditions and is also on the check in form which you accepted when you signed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We booked our stay here based on the reviews we saw here on TripAdvisor, as well as the great price online.

Walking there from the train was quite easy, and the Motel is also very accessible to all the cafes, restaurants and activities in town.

The owners were quite friendly, and check-in was fast. Our room was even ready an hour early! Warning for those carrying heavy bags: some rooms are one storey up, and require you to carry your bags up the stairs (although wasn't an issue for us).

The room was gorgeous - as evidenced by the pictures - and spacious. Having a separate living room was quite handy, and the little refrigerator even had a freezer section perfectly sized for ice cream bars! And the bathroom! The spa tub was amazing, and separate from the shower.

The negatives? Well, the Motel is just yards away from the railway line/railroad crossing. And apparently, trains go through about every two hours with the typical horn etc.all night long. There is also a skateboard park nearby, where kids were playing and shouting at 4am.

The bed and pillows weren't the most comfortable (both quite thin), and although I can usually sleep anywhere quite soundly, that night I managed only a few hours of sleep. Location is not a problem that can be easily solved, unfortunately!

Also, for those who may care, the room did not include bathrobes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2009
dsquarednz - thank you for your feedback, both good and bad - if we didn't get to hear about the things that are not right then we wouldn't be able to fix the problems.

Firstly, the pillows in question have been replaced.

Secondly we need to clarify a couple of points that you made - normally there are only a couple of trains during the night which coincide with the ferrys arriving /departing. The horn is not normally used at night unless there is a hazard nearby so this is an unusual event.

Finally, we have gone to a lot of trouble to mitigate any noise issues by installing double glazing and heavy drapes on all the windows. Airconditioning is also provided to ensure a comfortable temperature is maintained in the unit. The only time we have any noise issues is when the windows are left open overnight, so now we make it standard practise to remind our guests to close the windows. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope we will see you again here in Picton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

The accomodation at the Broadway Motel is absolutely lovely. We walked into the "honeymoon suite" and couldn't believe the size of the room for the very reasonable price. It was definately the cleanest motel that we have ever stayed at. The high standard that the owners have for the presentation of the rooms is apparent as soon as you walk in the door. We loved the decor and the owners were extremely friendly and helpful. They were easily able to help us out with our questions about places to go and visit as well as recommending some fantastic restaurants to us. Thanks so much for the fantastic time we had - we hope to see you again very soon!

  • Liked — Clean/tidy rooms and friendly owners
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,161 reviews 1,161 reviews
291 hotel reviews
Reviews in 313 cities Reviews in 313 cities
2,737 helpful votes 2,737 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

A refurbished motel located within walking distance from both Picton's railway station and the inter-island ferry terminal, the Broadway is a typical NZ motel with good sized rooms.

I had a good sleep here, and no complaints.

Satisfactory in all respects.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel

Address: 113 High St, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Business Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Broadway Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broadway Motel is the perfect self drive holiday base to explore the Marlborough Sounds & wine region, with the convenience of the Ferry Terminals, Railway Station and commercial area, all within 700m. This new development aims for a more contemporary feel, offering travellers quality 21st century features. Eighteen spacious units including Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom, all have lounging areas, kitchenettes, SKY Digital TV, FREE Wifi, air conditioning and double glazing for your comfort. Off street parking, guest laundry, baggage storage, breakfasts and tour desk are also available. Relax on your own private balcony or courtyard with views of surrounding bush clad hills & landscaped gardens. The Broadway Motel is just a 5 minute stroll from the centre of Picton, for local cafes restaurants and bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.