We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Friendly Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Broadway Motel to your Saves list
Broadway Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   113 High St, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Really Friendly Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed four nights--two at the start of our Queen Charlotte Sound 5 day guided walk, and two at the end. It is well located ( 400m from Picton Harbour), and close to all facilities and shops. Clean, comfortable and a great shower, it has very friendly and helpful staff--nothing was too much trouble to them. Well equipped with TV and Wi-Fi, the only downside for some would be the train rumbling past twice during the night/early morning. Would very readily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    65
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
123
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose this motel from the Internet never having visited Picton before. It is very well equipped with modern bathroom & kitchenette appliances, had a comfortable bed & sitting areas, pleasant mountain views from our upstairs room, small balcony & has a great supermarket across the road. Henry the on site manager could not have been more helpful. The fact that WIFI was available was a decider in our choice as always when we are overseas & need to keep connected. We stayed 3 nights and thought it was great. Would definitely recommend this motel & stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
redCairns_Australia, thank you for taking the time to review our family business. Its great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and would recommend the Broadway Motel to other people.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future

Donna & Henry Kersten
(Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were staying just the one night here. We were shown to our room which was very comfortable and spacious. It had a kitchenette and a good shower room. There was a supermarket close by. Picton is where the ferry comes into from North Island but it is a very pretty little harbour and a good selection of restaurants. There are plenty of walks here and great views especially from Queen Charlotte Drive.

Room Tip: There is a railway line that runs through Picton and although it was very hot when we got there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
candt1969 - Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Broadway Motel. It is very important to us that all our guests have and enjoyable stay and its great to read that you found very comfortable and spacious.

We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the country and its lovely to hear that you managed to find time to enjoy some of the walks around Picton.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Motel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Donna & Henry Kersten
(Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had a family member fall ill - staff went out of their way to ensure we had emergency accommodation the following night. Located on main road intersection, but noise is muted and the bonus is that it is a short walk down main street to all the shopping/dining.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Peter V - thank you for posting a review of our Family business. It is always difficult when a family member falls ill while on holiday and its nice to hear that we helped in finding you accommodation, at this very busy time of year.

We both hope that the sickness didn't last long and your family enjoyed the rest of their holiday. Thank you again for staying at the Broadway and if we can ever be of any more assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Donna & Henry Kersten
(Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had two brief overnight stays at this lovely motel in Feb 2014. Arrived on the late ferry from North Island and just needed somewhere close to ferry terminal overnight before continuing our holiday south. Pleasant downstairs room with separate bedroom & bathroom. Room was spotless and well equipped with everything we needed. Nice to be offered a choice of full cream or trim milk and not have to use those horrible little UHT sachets most motels offer. Our second stay was also brief as we had to catch early ferry next morning back to North Island, so naturally we booked Broadway Motel again as we'd had such a good experience the first time. We were upgraded to a lovely upstairs room - it was a shame we couldn't stay longer to really enjoy it, but once again found it spotlessly clean. Great motel, handy to shops and restaurants so you can walk everywhere once you arrive, lovely reception staff and easy parking. What more could you want!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Lovely clean room lady on reception was pleasent and helpfull. We arrived on late ferry from north Island and were given directions to a restaurant. Although they did not provide Breakfast allowed us to park our car for as long as we liked after cheaking out

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This place never disappoints, high standards maintained, great location, welcoming owners, perfect in presentation, spotless, so clean and tidy, thoroughly recommend. Modern facilities, supermarket right across the road, lovely easy stroll to waterfront, couldn't get better.Everything on hand that you need.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel

Address: 113 High St, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Business Hotel in Picton
#4 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Broadway Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broadway Motel is the perfect self drive holiday base to explore the Marlborough Sounds & wine region, with the convenience of the Ferry Terminals, Railway Station and commercial area, all within 700m. This new development aims for a more contemporary feel, offering travellers quality 21st century features. Eighteen spacious units including Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom, all have lounging areas, kitchenettes, SKY Digital TV, FREE Wifi, air conditioning and double glazing for your comfort. Off street parking, guest laundry, baggage storage, breakfasts and tour desk are also available. Relax on your own private balcony or courtyard with views of surrounding bush clad hills & landscaped gardens. The Broadway Motel is just a 5 minute stroll from the centre of Picton, for local cafes restaurants and bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.