We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Broadway Motel to your Saves list
Broadway Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   113 High St, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived in Picton fresh off the ferry from Wellington, and were at the motel door in less than five minutes. We were greeted by Jill, who is a wonderful and refreshing woman. She walked us to our room and gave us a tour of our room and recommended some good places to eat. Our room was very clean, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. It was by far the best place we stayed at on our trek down the islands. We met a another guest in the parking lot, and he raved about the motel, so we felt really good about our choice to stay there. It was walking distance to the harbor, a park, a mini golf course, several restaurants, the supermarket, and a gas station. We wished we had stayed there longer than one night. They had 110V plugs available, which was really convenient. I had also previously sent them an email as we were initially planning on taking the later ferry, and I received a response to my questions very quickly. You can tell the people who run this motel are very proud of it and their customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    65
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
123
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed just one night at the Broadway and found it excellent. We paid for the night on Wot If, so check in took all of one minute. Heating was on when we arrived, room was modern clean and comfortable with everything you need (except no tea towel which was strange - but sure they just forgot). The shower was probably the best I have EVER had (better than ours at home!).
Good location, all in walking distance to town, cafes and sea side. Definitely worth checking out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellently designed room with great views of Picton from the upstairs verandah. Absolutely clean with excellent fittings and joinery. The complimentary chocolates left on the table for us was a nice touch and the coffee sachets supplied were a brand we had not seen before in a motel and were easily the best tasting we had experienced. Very friendly staff and altogether excellent.

Robin and Bernice S

Room Tip: Better views from the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

An excellent motel in Picton. It's really inspiring to see some hotels can get it so right! Welcoming owners with good environmental policies, clean and comfortable rooms, with all the mod cons including a good range of Sky channels. Situated on a corner, I was pleased it was also so peaceful and rooms were well insulated for sound and weather. Meal options are offered, and the motel also has a discount arrangement with a local pub for a discount at dinner. (However, we walked down to Café Cortado for dinner - one of the few Picton places open after the recent earthquakes in Seddon). The Broadway Motel is highly recommended and I will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you Nick for taking the time to review our family business. Its great to hear you found us welcoming and the rooms clean and comfortable. This is an area that we are continually focusing on as it is very important to us.

Just in case other readers get the wrong impression regarding closed restaurants - the restaurants were NOT closed because of the earthquakes at Seddon, they were closed because we are in our off season and there are not many people about. All restaurants we be open as normal when the crowds return. If you would like any clarification on this then please call me on 0800 101 919 or email me at stay@broadwaymotel.co.nz

Henry Kersten
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very well designed and appointed unit. The studio unit was warm & spacious as well as having a comfortable queen sized bed. A large shower cubicle was an added bonus. I found that the motel was very clean and tidy. The continental breakfast that I had ordered was most satisfactory and reasonably priced. Friendly as well as helpful staff. My stay was for just one night while passing through. I would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very spacious spotlessly clean studio unit with comfortable seating in the lounge area. Booked by phone from Cook Strait ferry on a dark, rainy Sunday night. Excellent phone manner in spite of interruptions to phone reception. A very friendly welcome from Donna at reception. Great bed(s), shower etc. We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Brian,

Thank you for the positive review and its lovely to hear that you found the beds and showers great. With a main pressure hot water system it does make for excellent pressure in the showers, so all you have to do is take time to enjoy it.

Both Donna and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Henry Kersten
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

It was absolutely wonderful. Very comfortable, It had tasteful relaxing decor and it was well equipped with all I needed in the kitchenette. The cleanliness was noticable from first sight. This comes from someone who is extremely fussy. I felt very welcome upon arrival and I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel

Address: 113 High St, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Business Hotel in Picton
#4 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Broadway Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broadway Motel is the perfect self drive holiday base to explore the Marlborough Sounds & wine region, with the convenience of the Ferry Terminals, Railway Station and commercial area, all within 700m. This new development aims for a more contemporary feel, offering travellers quality 21st century features. Eighteen spacious units including Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom, all have lounging areas, kitchenettes, SKY Digital TV, FREE Wifi, air conditioning and double glazing for your comfort. Off street parking, guest laundry, baggage storage, breakfasts and tour desk are also available. Relax on your own private balcony or courtyard with views of surrounding bush clad hills & landscaped gardens. The Broadway Motel is just a 5 minute stroll from the centre of Picton, for local cafes restaurants and bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.