We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Picton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis Backpackers to your Saves list
Atlantis Backpackers
London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Picton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hostel is very close to the ferry terminal and bus stop as well as main high street, which is where the library is located. The room we stayed in could do with a little make over but in general served it's purpose. The kitchen was never too busy and always clean, made my birthday cake there. Friendly cats walked the halls of the quite large hostel and night time noise was quite low. The owner was enthusiastic which added something else to the stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
2
12
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I lost both my spare and daily spectacles and could barely see anything while in picton. The owner was genuinely concerned and drove me to blenheim where there was a bigger optical shop where they had more supplies. Thank you so much! I felt like a treasured guest and I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to feel right at home! :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This place is absolutely one of the nicest and most comfortable hostels I have ever visited. The staff is so friendly, all the places are clean and you can get help when ever you need it. Prices are right. Location is perfect. I love this place.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great, Sardinia very comfortable :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is definitely one of our best and most unique hostel experiences we have made so far in New Zealand! First I was very sceptical if its possible to sleep well in a huge dorm like this one here in Atlantis Backpackers - Yes you can!

The dorm is separated in many sections where you have your own privacy. Furthermore we can say that the hostel is very clean and the hosts are very kind and lovley. For breakfast there is toast/cereals and marmalades available - for free! And don't worry about Wifi, there is almost everywhere in Picton Centre free Wifi available (Telecom and Malborough Council).

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We decided last minute to stay in Picton instead of Blenheim, so no idea whatsoever of what to do in Picton and around... We have been welcomed by Sheira who has been the most enthusiastic and fantastic host I've ever seen in New Zealand, and a few hours later she drove us to the waterfront to introduce us to the yacht club people who offered us the chance to participate (as part of a crew) to the Twilight race in the Marlborough Sounds for the handsome price of $20 (we've seen a couple of orcas!!).

The place might seem a bit weird to people used to regular backpackers where everybody minds their own business, but this hostel has got a family environment with loads of games and funny things to read and do to keep you busy during the rainy days (it does happen!), and a free breakfast as well as a free dessert is complementary, which was more than appreciated as we were starting to be a bit skint at the end of our travels.

We stayed in the 22 (I believe) beds dorm during 2 busy days and we slept pretty well, the lights shut down at 10 PM, the beds are organized by sections and get their own little curtains (even the top bunk ones!) which give you some privacy.

So don't judge the book by its cover, this place is lovely, thanks to the amazing staff, and I will definitely go again if I am going back to Picton some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

When travelling on a budget you often get what you pay for but at Atlantis you get much more! The staff go above and beyond to make you feel at home and part of their crazy family. The hostel itself feels like a home, they offer free dessert and breakfast and have lots of suggestions for things to do. The dorm room is arranged so that you can have a private little nook if you like or can be part of a bigger dorm space. I've stayed in YHA's and Base hostels all over and they always feel the same but Atlantis is a breath of fresh air, you feel looked after and cared for!! I wish I could've stayed longer. Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Ok, the rooms are not the best and it seems to be very chaotic in this place but the staff is very lovely and you can see that they make a lot of effort to let everyone feel comfortable.
If you got straight from the ferry don't be afraid of staying in the 22 bed dorm or in the Atlantis Backpackers in general.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#10 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.1 mi away
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#4 of 21 in Picton
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.0 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 21 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Backpackers

Address: London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.