We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokopu Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kokopu Estate to your Saves list
Kokopu Estate
155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed at the Gatekeepers Cottage for 2 nights, to celebrate my partners birthday.
The surrounding gardens are a dream and the private courtyard with pond by the cottage door is a pleasure to spend time in. Lovely clean interior and very comfortable bed with luxury linens. A good selection of tea and coffee. Everything you need for a quiet romantic weekend away. We really loved staying here and an added bonus was Fergus the dog who greeted us everytime we drove up and the gorgeous lambs down the drive that did'nt mind being petted. Wendy and Mark have made a lovely home and property that they share with lucky travellers. Magic!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
GC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

This was exactly what you dream a cottage should be, absoultely quaint, picture perfect, cozy...highlight of our trip! The outside bath in the forest was so special too! THANK YOU THANK YOU for making our honey moon wonderful!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed for one night - mid week - in the Gatekeepers Cottage in May. (We should have taken more time off for my birthday and stayed longer) The Gatekeepers cottage is beautiful . It has a little kitchenette with a great selection of teas and coffees - fresh milk in a jug is just so homely. The shower was great with its own heating system - you can have a refreshing luxurious shower and it only takes 10-15 minutes to reheat the system. The Estate is only a couple of minutes drive from the centre of Akaroa. This is a perfect location for just relaxing and unwinding in a beautiful country setting. Wendy and Mark were the friendliest of hosts - the recommendation to go to Vangionis just made my birthday the best. Food - Devine (if it is still on the menu when you visit, try the rabbit), Service - Excellant, Atmosphere - a night to remember. We will definitely stay here again. Bob and Jan.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Despite the name, Gatekeepers Cottage is actually a studio apartment physically connected to the main house. It is a lovely room with exposed timber beams and a comfortable, if very soft, bed. The room was warm and most of the windows overlooked the lovely gardens. There is a kitchenette with small refrigerator, microwave, kettle, toaster, cutlery and crockery provided. It was stocked with a nice selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate and Wendy provide a jug of milk for us on arrival. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was powerful, but only provided 7 minutes of hot water. (A fact that would have been good to know BEFORE i got in!) A hair dryer and straightening tongs were nice thoughtful extras.

There is a small "sitting area" downstairs but it felt more like the waiting room of a doctor's office and I can't imagine anyone actually making use of it. There is a small courtyard out front with a fish pond and fountain, table and chairs and BBQ pit. It was raining while we were there but I have no doubts that it would be a lovely place to spend sunny mornings and evenings.

The gardens, grounds and estate house are exquisite. The actual self-contained Kokopu Cottage looked absolutely charming. Located just down the hill from the main estate house, Kokopu Cottage is set next to a small creek and has a lovely garden, bridge and incredible trees with blazing autumn colours. We peeked through the windows and it looks very well appointed and comfortable. The master bedroom has an amazing stained glass window. You could easily spend hours happily wandering around and photographing the garden.

All in all I enjoyed my stay; but I was expecting a self-contained cottage so I felt a little deceived. Had I known the "Gatekeepers Cottage" was just one room (I don't really count the downstairs waiting room) I would have booked the Kokopu Cottage instead.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stayed at Kokopu Farm in the Gatekeeper's Cottage for 2 nights in mid-December. The views on the drive to Akaroa are stunning and the town itself is lovely. Kokopu Farm is just outside the town and is in a very peaceful location. The Gatekeeper's Cottage is next to the main farmhouse, but has its own private courtyard and pond. The cottage is lovely and very comfortable. Breakfast was delivered to our room each morning and was delicious. We were able to use the washing machine and make use of the internet access which was appreciated. Mark and Wendy were friendly and welcoming and helped us with dinner reservations and advice. This was our last B&B in New Zealand and we enjoyed our stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

A glorious small old cottage, tastefully presented by Mark and Wendy in a glorious location. Bellbirds, woodpigeons and other birdlife abound, the wild eels in the creek are an added bonus and the sheep wandering in the paddocks provide a wonderfully relaxed environment. Akaroa and the surrounding bays are one of NZ's best kept secrets - so lets keep it that way!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MInnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

This was the perfect kickoff to our two weeks in NZ. Mark and Wendy made us feel perfectly at home, even down to dispersing a swarm of bees and tipping us off on the eel secret. You couldn't do better anywhere in NZ!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokopu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopu Estate

Address: 155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopu Estate Cottages - Kokopu Cottage is idyllically situated beside a stream with gorgeous garden and native trees. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and bathroom with washing machine.Open fire in the living room. Secluded outdoor wood-fired bath beside the stream. DVD player, games and books. No WiFi - this is country living at it's best. The Gatekeepers Cottage is a luxurious romantic retreat with en suite bathroom and private courtyard. Stunning location. Self catering or delicious cooked breakfast bought to you. WiFi available The Potager Suite is a bed and breakfast room within the main house with a private adjacent bathroom. Single room also available. Lounge with open fire available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kokopu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokopu Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.