We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place - Gatekeepers Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokopu Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kokopu Estate to your Saves list
Kokopu Estate
155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
2 reviews
“Charming place - Gatekeepers Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed for two nights, although we had planned to stay for three but something came up and we had to get back to the big bad city in the Nth Island.
Lovely, charming self contained cottage with beautiful views. When we woke up in the morning we could see the snow on the mountain tops from the window above the bed, beautiful. Also lovely scenic walks up the mountain. Akaroa itself is quite charming too. Would love to visit again, in the summer this time. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
602 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed for two nights in the Gatekeepers Cottage B&B in April. The cottage is very cosy. It has a little kitchenette and a great shower. The Cottage is only five minutes drive from Akaroa, which is well worth the visit if you are in the Christchurch area. The Kokopu Estate has beautiful gardens. The owners are very friendly and serve a very nice fresh continental breakfast consisting of fresh fruit salad, excellent muslei, croissants, fresh juice, and yoghurt. This is a perfect location for just relaxing and unwinding in a comfortable environment. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

This is the perfect spot for a romantic getaway - it's in the quiet countryside, but close enough to town to experience Akaroa. The room is stylish yet comfortable, impeccably clean, and private. The hosts, Wendy and Mark are absolutely delightful, full of information on the local attractions, and they also provided us with an over-the-top delicious breakfast. We went for a wander through their 38 acres of land, through their vineyards, past their paddocks of sheep, and up to the historic park, with stunning views overlooking Akaroa. It was a uniquely kiwi experience! This B&B is great value for money and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Kokopu Farm is a beautiful house set on its own land with stunning gardens and is defiantly a home away from home. We stayed in the Potager Suite which is a real luxury and has the most amazing views of the New Zealand countryside. As a backpacker used to sleeping bags and cheap bedding the bed and the linen was out of this world – we slept really well! The bathroom was of an equally high standard and was located just next door.

The hosts Mark and Wendy are really welcoming and truly make you feel at home due to their experience in hospitality. They are also an invaluable source of information on the local area and are excellent cooks.

Our two days spent there were amazing and we would definitely return if we were ever back in New Zealand. They also accept WWOOFers (http://www.wwoof.co.nz/) so you get to stay and eat for free if you work for them for a few hours which is a worthwhile trade.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We spent 5 days in Kokopu cottage on the Kokopu Estate in Akaroa on the Banks Peninsula. It was a beautiful location and the cottage was fantastic. It was full of character and the gardens were great. We loved sitting by the stream and wandering through the gardens.
The owners were very welcoming and friendly and we'll definitely be going back.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Kokopu cottage is a delightful cottage near the stream in a most relaxing environment in the hills/bush behind Akaroa. The woodpidgeon's, Tui's and other birdlife unafraid of visitors sitting closeby in trees, and other back to nature experiences made this an ideal start to our much needed 3 day break. At the risk of sounding very 'JaneAustin'-ish this oasis of tranquility could use adjectives such as stunningly peaceful and rustic quality. Wendy and Mark have thought of everything to ensure the cottage meets modern needs while keeping a rare charm of yester year. Next time we will stay for longer.
Sheryll & Nigel Petrie

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Hard to find, particularly since Mark knocked down the sign at the end of the lane the evening before(!), but well worth it. Akaroa is a beautiful place, and Kokopu Farm is a welcoming, pleasant place to stay when you are there. Clean, comfortable & recommended.

  • Liked — Arriving
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.2 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#5 of 27 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akaroa Village Inn
Akaroa Village Inn
#15 of 27 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 5 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopu Estate

Address: 155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopu Estate Cottages - Kokopu Cottage is idyllically situated beside a stream with gorgeous garden and native trees. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and bathroom with washing machine.Open fire in the living room. Secluded outdoor wood-fired bath beside the stream. DVD player, games and books. No WiFi - this is country living at it's best. The Gatekeepers Cottage is a luxurious romantic retreat with en suite bathroom and private courtyard. Stunning location. Self catering or delicious cooked breakfast bought to you. WiFi available The Potager Suite is a bed and breakfast room within the main house with a private adjacent bathroom. Single room also available. Lounge with open fire available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kokopu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokopu Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.