We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokopu Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kokopu Estate
Save
You added Kokopu Estate to your Saves list
155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$160 (NZD)
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The accommodation here is very high quality. A lovely quiet estate in scenic surroundings a few minutes from the town. You can have room only, self catering or B&B. If the latter, the breakfasts are superb. The lady owner tries to get you to both have the same breakfast but as you are paying $50NZ for two breakfasts on top of the room rate, have what you want! Overall I rate this highly despite the fact that it is a bit more expensive than other B&Bs we stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Two of us wanted a quiet weekend to ourselves. This was a perfect choice. We have just left their property after staying two nights in the Potager Room. This was a large bedroom and a full sized bathroom next door for our exclusive use. We were invited to use the beautiful large lounge with leather furniture, an open fire (which Wendy kept alight all the time) and our breakfast table. Because the house is large and Wendy and Mark have another living room, we had this to ourselves. It was luxury. They served beautiful cooked breakfasts using free-range eggs. They even invited us to try their new wine. They were very helpful in providing local advice on walks and places to see. We ate at their sons restaurant, Viognier, which we couldn't fault.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A group of us stayed with Wendy and Mark at their beautiful estate earlier this month. In addition to being perfect hosts and accommodating our every need, the property was a great place for the six of us to stay and explore. We went for a walk to the top of the mountain above the property accompanied by their dog who led the way and stopped for us if we flagged or stop to chat. I think he was a bit disappointed that we didn't go all the way to the top. Other than the views from above the property of the sound below, there is a small vineyard and veggie patch that feeds the Bradley's and provides fresh produce for Vangioni's restaurant run by their son Steve (another place not to be missed during your stay in Akaroa).

I leave with a warning that we will be back..............

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Nevada, Northern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed one night in the Potager room and two nights in the Gatekeepers Cottage. The Potager
is upstairs in the main house with a very comfortable, attractive and clean private bedroom and bathroom. After one night we moved to the Gatekeepers Cottage for two nights. This had been our choice, made prior to arriving and was based upon availability at the time of our booking. It was gracious of Wendy to accommodate this request as undoubtedly, it only made more work for her to move us. As it turned out, it was a treat to spend the first night in the house. Mark and Wendy hosted us in the evening like visiting dignitaries. Downstairs in their beautiful living room with an open fire in the hearth, they shared wine and hor d'hourves and engaged us sincerely in an enquiring conversation that slowly revealed their depth of character and a truly remarkable openness and hospitality. These are unusual people, in that it would not appear to occur to them to be anything other than completely welcoming to strangers blowing in off the roads and entering their home. They also would appear to be creative, hardworking, versatile people who have actively cultured an admirable livelihood through perseverance, imagination and resourcefulness.

The Gatekeepers Cottage is a two story accommodation attached upon the approaching end of the main house. It has a private entrance through a lovely brick and stone courtyard with a comely fountain and outdoor seating. Downstairs is a small sitting room and desk opening out upon the enclosed court. Upstairs is a rather large open room with a small kitchenette, a small table, chairs
a DVD and music set-up, a comfortable king or queen bed ( I don't remember which ), and a private bathroom. The upstairs room is handsome and colorful with pleasant views both up the mountain and over down upon the well developed landscape gardens.

Entering the village of Akaroa from the direction of Christchurch, Kokopu Estate is located a few minutes drive up a pretty valley road. It is easy to find. The arrival to the estate is down by the red cottage which the Bradley's rent, the main house is on up the road a short distance. Setting out from which, we were able to take a great 5 or 6 hour loop walk right from our doorstep. This one particular route which we followed was a public trail, well maintained, through what appeared to be both public and private lands. The trail presented wonderful views and led us right back to within one or two hundred yards of the estate entrance.

Altogether, the stay exceeded our hopes. It seemed as if we were staying at the home of old friends or family in a lovely, classic setting. We most definitely would return

Also, do give the owner's restaurant Vangionis a try. We had an excellent dinner in a comfortable ambience for a reasonable price. It is just down the way a few minutes from Kokupu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Potager room at Kokopu for 3 nights. Quiet. Comfortable. Breakfasts delicious. Setting heavenly. Birdsong surrounded us. The garden & hills greeted us every morning. The setting is spectacular. Hosts Mark & Wendy are interesting, knowlegable, excellent cooks, but above all--Kind in the fullest sense of the word. They couldn't have done more in the way of making sure we had the most restful,stress-free, comfortable vacation possible.

Thank you Mark & Wendyi hope we can come back soon. We would head directly for Kokopu Estate.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

A gorgeous little red cottage by a cool stream, a short walk across a lovely little wooden bridge to its own orchard: the perfect start to our New Zealand holiday, with the only sounds the occasional bird and the water running by the backdoor.
A great way to get away from it all, just 5 minutes drive, or, if feeling energetic, a 20 minute walk down the hill to the beautiful village of Akaroa.
This is a very old bach, slightly updated, with no Wi-Fi or even a TV signal - just a DVD player attached to a screen. The kitchen is basic, but has what you need to cook a decent meal - fridge, oven, stove top and microwave. Beds are also not the best, especially if more than 3 are staying and the 4th has to sleep on the trundle bed which makes the 2nd bedroom very crowded. But if staying as a couple the main bedroom is gorgeous with a stunning leadlight feature.
The bathroom was also basic with an underpowered, but clean shower. However any sacrifices on modern amenities are more than offset by the delights of an old fashioned woodfire at night, or eating lunch sitting on the banks of the stream outside the back door.
As a bonus, if you take a walk up the hill behind the property past the main guest house you'll be rewarded with great views of Akaroa, and enjoy the company of Gus, the owners' dog, who will race you to the top.
And if you really need Wi-Fi, head down to the local library where you can connect with the net for free.

Room Tip: Although 4 can squeeze in, it's really only suitable for 3 people, and is a perfect retreat for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

One of my best holiday experiences ever and definitely the best while staying in New Zealand. We stayed at the Potager Suite in the main house and the hosts, Wendy and Mark made us feel like a part of their family. Great food, beautiful views, garden, vineyard, evening lounge with fire, singing birds, heaven on Earth. Wish could stay MUCH longer, preferably forever. And Akaroa and Banks peninsula district is absolutely beautiful too. Many secluded beaches, wild forest, tracks, wildlife. While there, go to Vangionis their family restaurant, the food there is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokopu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopu Estate

Address: 155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopu Estate Cottages - Kokopu Cottage is idyllically situated beside a stream with gorgeous garden and native trees. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and bathroom with washing machine.Open fire in the living room. Secluded outdoor wood-fired bath beside the stream. DVD player, games and books. No WiFi - this is country living at it's best. The Gatekeepers Cottage is a luxurious romantic retreat with en suite bathroom and private courtyard. Stunning location. Self catering or delicious cooked breakfast bought to you. WiFi available The Potager Suite is a bed and breakfast room within the main house with a private adjacent bathroom. Single room also available. Lounge with open fire available for guests use. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokopu Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.