We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous garden and artwork” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Giants House

The Giants House
68 Rue Balguerie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Akaroa
Type: Gardens, Tours, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Giant's House - A historic Akaroa house with original artworks, terraced gardens with sculptures and mosaics. Very Unique. A creative feast and a wonderful experience. Romantic secluded and quiet, but only a few minutes walk to the centre of Akaroa.The Giant's House was the first bank managers house in Akaroa, built 1880 of totara and kauri. It is grand in size, proportions, and features. Elegant and comfortable, it is designed and decorated in the french style. Being the home of an artist it balances and contrasts the historic and contemporary. Both the house and terraced gardens are full of surprises -expect the unexpected at The Giant's House!
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Fabulous garden and artwork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

You must not go past this amazing attraction. It is definitely worth the $20 entrance fee but I wonder how many people go past this quirky place without any idea of what they are missing. I had to persuade my friends to part with the money as the gawdy sign at the bottom of the drive at the entrance to the house and garden is not representative of the gorgeous lushious entrancing treat inside. We have never seen anything like this place and we were reluctant to leave after a tasty afternoon tea accompanied by parisienne style music while we explored the mosaic fantasy garden. I could have spent 3 hours there.
You must take the opportunity to see this work of art, gallery, historic house, sympathetic artistic plantings and giant mosaic characters. You will not be disappointed and you will never forget these images.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    27
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Colourful Fairytale Alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Visited on 12 Dec 2012. This place is really teeming with colours n vibrance. You can tell the owner put in much effort and love into this garden. So beautiful !! And all the wonderful poppies, dwarf peach trees, lemon trees, patches of cabbages n lettuces... etc The whole garden was so lovely that I cant help clicking the camera away non stop. The self-playing grand piano near the entrance was enthralling and so were the many interesting mosaic sculpture designs. A must visit for those who go to Akaroa, NZ

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gooik, Belgium
2 reviews
“Magical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our first stay in NZ was in this magical place. We loved and enjoyed it. The garden was magnificent, but the animation by the artist was even better.
Josie, thank you for our nice talks and just for being you.
Astrid & Hugo

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Extraordinary - take cash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Yes it is $20 per person, ( and more if you want to use a credit card ) but WHERE in the world would you see anything like this.
It may not be worth spending the $20 unless you had an interest in gardens and art.

As a visitor of many of the worlds gardens, many of them blur after a while, whereas this was totally memorable. It was a sunny day, roses were in full bloom, music was playing and every turn was some quirky new tribute to the talent and hard work of this artist.. who was beavering away at the top of the garden as we wandered around. I would love to have sat in that conservatory and had a cup of tea, and really had a chance to admire the artwork in a bit more depth.
As a gardener I can just imagine how much work this was, and what it cost to put together. The artist and the ticket selling lady spoke to us briefly and perfectly politely as we left.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
“our the most unexpected place in New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

In August 2012 we (Dmitriy from Almaty, Kazakhsatn and Svetlana from Saint-Petersburg) visited the Giants House in Akaroa, created by Josie Martin and her friends. It was the last day of our marvellous 10 days trip in New Zealand and definitely it was most fantastic and unexpected impression. Being a geologist, I planned to spent time observing volcanic rocks and landforms of old Acaroa volcano... but fortunately we found that place in the village (located in the volcano's crater) and spent there all time we had. Its incomparable. We've seen some remarkable places of that kind - ethereal Milles Garden in Stokholm, tremendous Vigeland Park in Oslo, touching Sculpture Park in Bishkek (Kirgisia), Kirovka street in Chelyabinsk (Urals) with alive cast iron sculptures, bright Lubenko's Mosaic Yard in Saint-Petersburg... All of them are unique, and the Giants House is the most magic from them. It just returns you to the childhood, to the sunny and endless morning... Thank you, Josie!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Giants House also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Giants House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Giants House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.