We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service at lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Maison

Ma Maison
6 Rue Balguerie, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
03 304 7668
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great service at lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a greta lunch and enjoyed both food and the service. The children played at the playground next to the restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    78
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Good food. Has a kids menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Has lovely food served with attractive view of the water and iconic jetty. Has a decent kids menu and sits right next to a play park.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a great restaurant in a great town. Delicious food, great view to the shore and friendly staff

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband took me to Akaroa exploring one of the beauty of local attraction in South Island of New Zealand.
It took us approximately an hour and half from Christchurch as we stopped by several times taking some beautiful shots along the way to Akaroa.
We arrived just about lunch time and all of restaurants were busy and after a recommendation from one of the restaurant we intended having meals, but ran out the menu my husband keen to have; we went to Ma Maison. It was busy as other restaurants on that particular hours, but we were lucky to have a table for two inside. The weather was a crack and the staff were very efficient providing the service.
As I have always wanted to try seafood chowder and I just got it so tasty. That was so delicious of seafood meals I have just tried ever in my life, I wouldn't mind at all to have it again. My husband also very impressed with the meals he had, blue cod fish tasted fresh and yummy.
The environment is very friendly with beautiful viewing to the beach and this is an absolutely good choice of a restaurant in Akaroa.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good diner for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The food was very good, served in a very nice environment by very friendly people. And of course excellent New Zealand wine.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma Maison also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ma Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.