We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place with a good view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Trading Rooms Restaurant

The Trading Rooms Restaurant
71 Beach Rd, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: French, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Exciting modern cooking, fine wine selection, beautiful sunset harbour views from the terrace. The Trading Rooms is a timeless historic venue, perfect for your special occasion.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A nice place with a good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in Akaroa for three days. This was one of four restaurants we tried. The appetizers were delicious, the wine selection quite broad. My main was delicious- the lamb is outstanding. My wife's main was the fish of the day- good but not spectacular. However, her dessert was tremendous- the chocolate fondant! I thought she might lick the plate!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    82
    27
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A large group of us had their set course menu and it was delicious. Not a long wait for each course so well organised, beautifully presented and the service was excellent. Would definitely go back again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Best fish and chips ever - traveler 1
Best cheeseburger ever - traveler 2

Nice wait staff

A pleasant surprise!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Only had a couple of coffees and cakes here as we were thinking of making booking for the evening. However, it was fully booked.
Great inside main room which I am sure is great in the evening.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do Try It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We tied the Rooms for morning coffee, lunch and dinner during our stay. The staff are so helpful and are quick to learn names. Service is prompt but not pushy. The menu is not way out, but has superbly prepared food with definitive taste touches. We know exactly where we are going to eat on a return visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trading Rooms Restaurant also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Trading Rooms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trading Rooms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.