We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trading Rooms Restaurant

The Trading Rooms Restaurant
71 Beach Rd, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Akaroa
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Exciting modern cooking, fine wine selection, beautiful sunset harbour views from the terrace. The Trading Rooms is a timeless historic venue, perfect for your special occasion.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had dinner here during last summer, seems a long time ago now, but can still remember how much we enjoyed the food, I had lamb and was stunning, the girls where smart but friendly, we got to sit outside on the water front on a hot night, which was a highlight

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    54
    21
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We enjoyed the best fish and chips of our holiday at this place, with a beer in the sun with a great view. not much more to say, all went home happy!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made in NZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Platter in Akaroa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

You would think, being so connected to the sea, that Akaroa restaurants and cafes would offer a selection of delicious fish dishes - well, they don't. The Trading Rooms saved the day with their exceptional seafood platter consisting of maybe 8 or 9 varieties of seafood, from calamari, to salmon, to pan-fried fish of the day, and everything in between. Most delicious, and a relief after so many "fish and chips" menus everywhere else in this seaside village. THANK YOU Trading Rooms !!! Other cafes should take note...
Oh, and it's in a cool old building too, but we sat outside in the sun :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Really top local food I chose the local salmon followed by local lamb just great

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Old word charm and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Right on the water, this old building has a nice mix of indoor and outdoor sitting pending on the weather conditions. We had a meal sitting both indoor and outside and enjoyed both meals intensely. Try to green lip mussels in white wine sauce and not be disappointed. Also a good selection of wines is on offer.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trading Rooms Restaurant also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Trading Rooms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trading Rooms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.