We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Lovely Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Belle Villa
Save
You added La Belle Villa to your Saves list
113 Rue Jolie, Akaroa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Place in Lovely Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Akaroa is a wonderful and beautiful town. One block from the beach is this cute B&B. Lots of charm, very friendly. Rooms and breakfast were fine.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crickhowell, Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

Very warm welcome from Alice and Paul. Fabulous breakfast served communally either in front of a log fire or in the garden depending on the weather. Room extremely comfortable with excellent facilities. We are grateful for help in trying to find a lost coat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

This is a charming B&B in a historics place house that is extremely comfortable. The location means that easy walking distance to everything and the beautiful garden, charming hosts and great breakfast make this accomodation excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

This is a lovely B&B in an excellent location in Akaroa; the breakfast was fine and the hosts were welcoming. My only comment is to make sure you don't book the small room; there are 3 large rooms, but since I asked for a single, I was booked into a tiny room with very awkward angles to the ceiling. When I first entered the room, I had my sunglasses on and the walls are painted dark blue, so I walked right into a sharp angle where the ceiling comes down into the walkway about a foot into the room. It's several days later and my head still hurts, so I would suggest paying more to book a real room.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

La Belle Villa is an impossibly pretty home in a central but quiet location a minute's walk from some great restaurants on the harbour front. It was built in the 1870s and boasts many period features. We stayed in a large room at the front of the house with a comfortable king size bed and decent bathroom. There's a lounge for guests with Sky TV.

Alice, our host, could not have been more welcoming, treating us to tea and biscuits in the garden when we arrived. She even photocopied a map of a local walk for us. Breakfast was excellent - also served in the garden.

  • Liked — Character, charm and hospitality
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

This is a beautiful good-size bed and breakfast. Owners are friendly, but kind of leave you alone. Decor is gorgeous, great location, good value.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Belle Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Villa

Address: 113 Rue Jolie, Akaroa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.