We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give me a home amongst the olive grove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Olive Grove to your Saves list
The Olive Grove
36 Sawmill Road | Robinsons Bay, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Give me a home amongst the olive grove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed into Chris and Annette's home. After being shown to our beautiful, clean and cosy room, we were invited to sample their very own olive oil with bread and dukkah. We felt like we were catching up with old friends, sharing stories with great hosts and another lovely English couple. Great local advice and a delicious breakfast to start our long journey further south (amazing homemade waffles). Thank you Chris and Annette for a wonderful start to our holiday. We hope to one day see you both again, Rebecca and Jonathan.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestreshire, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Chris and Annette manage a lovely B&B and an olive farm. We were late arriving although we did ring ahead. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our restfully wallpapered room. The en-suite bathroom had a good sized shower and olive based toiletries.which were beautifully soft. There was not a sound to be heard in the night and breakfast was the time for a lot of chat, both with our hosts and other guests in a light and airy dining room. Annette is justifiably proud of her breakfasts which offered several choices. On our last evening we were invited to have pre dinner drinks with......olives of several types. Most enjoyable. The B&B is very conveniently located to tour the Akaroa peninsula with its beautiful bays and beaches and is a short drive to the town of Akaroa and its shops, excursions and restaurants. Put this venue and the Peninsula in your itinerary as a must do and see.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We loved this B & B. It is a tiny bit outside of the town, but on a lovely hillside with a wonderful view. We had the family suite for the five of us. It was cozy, quiet, spotless, and the hosts were lovely. They helped us with our dinner arrangements. The bedding and toiletries were top notch. The breakfast was amazing, made with ingredients from local farms. Our boys are still raving about the waffles and bacon! Because of some confusion around our experience swimming with dolphins, we were a bit late to check out. Even though there were other guests arriving that day, the hosts were very kind about our delay. We highly recommend this place. We would have liked to have stayed more nights and had a chance to try their olive oil! There was a swing and paddle ball game out on the front lawn that the kids enjoyed.

Room Tip: The family suite had one bathroom between two rooms. It was very cozy and convenient. With a rollawa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Olive Grove was the last stop on our 15 day tour of New Zealand and we couldn't have picked a better spot to end our journey. Chris and Annette met us at the door and made us feel instantly welcome. Our room was spotlessly clean and fresh, beautifully decorated, with a large bathroom, all the amenities, and a fantastic view of the Bay from our balcony. The breakfasts were delicioius with a different option for continental and cooked each morning. We particularly enjoyed getting together in the evenings with our hosts and other guests over a glass of wine to enjoy olives and olive oils and lively conversation while Chris and Annette shared their information and experiences about olive growing. One evening, we enjoyed dining on our purchase of local cheese, wine and salmon on the deck because we simply didn't want to leave once we were there. Chris and Annette were very helpful with local information for sights to see and restaurant suggestions! The location is perfect - it is so quiet and tranquil and the stars at night are brilliant - yet you are minutes from Akaroa. We can't wait to recommend The Olive Grove to our friends and family. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Akaroa at the end of december. What a treat the rooms are very tastefully done in an immaculate older style home. It is so quiet and peaceful with amazing views of the harbour. The breakfast was delicious all homemade with different offerings for both mornings we were here.
Annette and Chris are great hosts very friendly yet allowing enough space to enjoy and unwind.
We would highly reccomened

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Olive Grove was the first stop on our 16 day tour of New Zealand - and what a perfect start. A very warm welcome from hosts Chris and Annette make you feel instantly at home. Our room was superb with views from the balcony across the bay. Very well appointed with all the little luxury touches that you would expect from a 5 star accommodation. Huge very comfortable bed. The evening olive tasting with complimentary wine in the guests lounge was very enlightening and very nice. Lots of information and advice on the local area. The breakfast selection was fantastic, you really are spoilt for choice. Thoroughly recommend The Olive Grove - we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed two nights in November 2011. We received a warm welcome and were shown to a very comfortable room wih a wonderful view to Akaroa harbour. The breakfasts were delicious with a different choice of continental and cooked each day and the hospitality superb. It would have been lovely to have stayed longer if we had been able to have more time as we really enjoyed the area and felt this was an ideal location to use as a base to explore further. It has all the advantages of being close to Akaroa but with the added bonus of the wildlife we saw in the surronding fields.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Grove

Address: 36 Sawmill Road | Robinsons Bay, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Olive Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.