We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rochelle Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Rochelle Motel to your Saves list
La Rochelle Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 Rue Grehan | cnr Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We arrived and were warmly welcomed by the owner who showed us to our room (Queen Spa Studio). The room was big enough for the two of us, very clean and opened out onto a small patio area which looked out on the stream. The view was lovely and worth the extra mosquito or two (really not an issue for us but may be a little more annoying in the right weather). The bed was one of the best on our trip.

The morning we checked out the staff were happy to suggest some activities for the day and gave us suggestions once we decided what to do. The hotel is positioned just outside of town but we never really had to use the car, everything is within walking distance. The town itself has enchanted my partner and I and we have already decided to come back when we get the chance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    35
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
isles of scilly
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

very friendly hosts and a very comfortable room right by the stream ( and Police Station ). We enjoyed the comfort and quiet of this motel very much indeed. A great little town well worth a couple of days stay. We will come here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Almost everything about Akaroa is pretty and quaint and La Rochelle Motel is no exception. We were shown upstairs to our room by a lovely hostess and made to feel quite welcome. The room itself was fairly spacious with a large, comfortable bed and pillows. There is a small balcony where you can look down into a running stream. We didn't stay out there long though as we saw too many mosquitoes/ insects flying around. The other downside was that we couldn't get any wifi as long as we were in the room. That was fairly frustrating as plotting our route for the next day had to wait. Nevertheless, the motel is just a stone's throw away from Beach Road which is where everything happens. You can't go very wrong with a stay at this motel and we would definitely choose to stay here again if we were ever in Akaroa again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful drive from Christchurch, was met by Jeremy the owner in the car park as we pulled in. Very friendly and helpful. Once we booked in he explained sites around town and best places to eat at. Then helped us carry all our luggage upstairs. The Unit was very spacious and clean with comfortable modern furniture. Full equipped kitchen and balcony overlooking a little stream. Walking distance to town in 2mins. Would highly recommend La Rochelle Motel to any travelers coming down to Akaroa.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Jeremy & Richelle, a young friendly obliging couple, made us feel welcome.

Close and within easy walking distance to restaurants, craft shops and the wharf.
well appointed with all amenities.

we were on the second floor, with a balcony overlooking a beautiful running stream
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a double room for two nights and it was perfectly acceptable - clean and spacious. Kitchen facilities met our needs too. However, we were disappointed in a couple of ways. One of the key reasons we chose this accommodation over any other was that they had a tandem bicycke available to borrow. We both enjoy cycling and have never ridden a tandem - sounded like a great opportunity to avoid bike hire costs and try it out at the same time. When we asked about the bike it turned out that it no longer existed, having become worn out and discarded. However, the website still advertises its availability.
Our second disappointment was the wifi - the signal only reached the room if you stood at the front door (at least, for mobile devices this is true. For laptops with higher power availability you could stretch a little further). It's clear that the owners had tried to address this as there was a wifi extender device - but it didn't work so effectively we had no wifi.
Overall, the accommodation was OK, a little on the pricey side and ultimately left us disappointed by "the small stuff".

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are pleased only the "small stuff" disappoints you and our unit was perfectly acceptable and adequate to your needs. You will be pleased to know immediately after our chat regarding the Tandem bike I removed the description from our website and hopefully all other 3rd party websites have too been altered. We also contacted our IT guy to check the WIFI extender you mention, it would appear the Wifi extender is all working A OK so it could possibly been your device, however as you mention you could still get Wifi from our main Router. Your comments and feedback are welcomed and assist us in improving our service and facilities and we continue to strive to maintain a high level of both. Kind Regards Richelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in La Rochelle Motel in Akaroa and it was most enjoyable. Suitably located next to a babbling brook and close the shops, attractions etc. Our room was spacious with kitchenette and plenty of chairs. Everything was clean and well presented.
While free wifi is still becoming the standard in New Zealand the $5 charge for the duration of our stay was reasonable.
Overall a pleasant stay and good value

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Rochelle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Address: 1 Rue Grehan | cnr Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex (built 2003) offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, continental breakfast, Wireless Broadband & Guest Laundry available. Long stay & Seasonal special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rochelle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.