We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SMALL AND AVERAGE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Rochelle Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Rochelle Motel to your Saves list
La Rochelle Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 Rue Grehan | cnr Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“SMALL AND AVERAGE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a modern, efficient,clean functional motel with not a lot of character to write about. We had the access unit with an excellent bathroom, but it is right next to the main road, so traffic noise was a bit of a problem, especially during the day. The room was small, with only one small shelf for clothes (even the bedside tables had no drawers) so stowage was something of a problem - probably okay for one night though. It would have felt claustrophobic but for the small patio alongside a stream - and by small, I do mean small. Alongside a stream, maybe, but the motel is alongside the main street, and the traffic is noisier than the stream.

The problem is that, when they built this motel, they squeezed too much on to the corner site, so everything is small and cramped, even the parking. It's fine for a short stay, but average.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your thoughts on our property. We note you booked our Queen Access Unit which as the website states is street frontage and is a different layout to our other Studio's, it is also the cheapest unit. My husband & I did not build the property but we think the architect was very clever in designing a motel on what was the adjoining property's orchard. For a longer stay we would recommend future guests choose a King or Queen Studio or contact us direct and we can endeavour to meet your needs.We apologise you never found character here, we receive lots of positive feedback on our units and on our character, perhaps next time we shall invite Mr Richie M'Caw. Kind Regards Richelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    50
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
93
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a wonderful first time stay at the La Rochelle, comfortable, very clean and lovely setting with the stream, quiet but close to everything, felt very welcomed by the hosts and look forward to staying again at the La Rochelle.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was quiet and comfortable and we slept really well, which was a bonus after nearly ten days traveling. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was a little small, but was fine for what we needed. Loved the stream out the back of the room, very pretty and tranquil. The location was perfect, within walking distance of the sailing boat Fox II we went on to view the dolphins and also the fantastic Little Bistro. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently had our 5th stay at Le Rochelle and it was excellent as usual. We had booked a Saturday and Sunday stay instead of Friday and Saturday in error so when we arrived Jeremy had no free units for us so he promptly got on the phone and found us alternative accommodation for the Friday night, he then charged us only for the Saturday night even though he was entitled to charge us for both nights - thanks again Jeremy. I highly recommend La Rochelle to everyone, I did recommend it to a friend and she did stay and thoroughly enjoyed her stay so it is also her choice for her next visit to Akaroa and I wouldn't stay anywhere else now.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Spend 2 nights in this motel. Very good adress even with bad weather. Very friendly staff. Good and well equipped room/kitchen with everything we needed. The cleaning lady even washed our dishes!!! Perfect choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your review and acknowledgement of our high standards of service. Our small team here work together to provide great service, which of course includes doing the dishes. See you again soon . Kind Regards Richelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

On a hiking trip around nz. Booked here on advice of trip advisor for 2 nights. Very comfy bed. Nice having a little balcony over looking a stream. Wifi was important to us and worked in the room. Can walk to everything, yet it's located in the unbusy end of town so quiet at night. Happy we chose here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and time in Akaroa. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Kind Regards
Richelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed for one night. Got room 8 upstairs, the room was well equipped, with TV, radio, ipod speakers, phone, and a fully equipped kitchen.
A tiny oversight was that the espresso packet left in the coffee pot was a day past the best before date.
I loved the small creek behind the room, the sound of flowing water was very relaxing.

The hosts were helpful in recommending and booking a harbour cruise with Akaroa dolphin cruises for us at 10% discount. Although it was a shame that we ended up missing it because we were the only 2 persons booked and there was a minimum of 4 needed to proceed with the cruise. It was curious though that we found out that the other cruise operator black cats cruises had 31 persons registered for the cruise that morning.

Lastly, it would also be good if WIFI was given free of charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you to bringing to our attention the small issues of dated espresso packets, we are pleased to report it has now been replaced with the newly dated BB 28/03/13.
We are sorry that you are not able to enjoy the wonderful Akaroa Dolphin Cruise with limited numbers, we can also arrange the same discount with Black Cat Cruises.
Lastly as owners of a small complex we feel the minimal fee of $5 for unlimited WIFI access during your stay is appropriate and assists us in helping provide this service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.7 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Village Inn
Akaroa Village Inn
#15 of 27 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Villa Vangioni
Villa Vangioni
#3 of 27 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rochelle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Address: 1 Rue Grehan | cnr Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex (built 2003) offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, continental breakfast, Wireless Broadband & Guest Laundry available. Long stay & Seasonal special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rochelle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.