We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rochelle Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Rochelle Motel to your Saves list
La Rochelle Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 Rue Grehan | cnr Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We chose to stay here for a ridiculous reason - my name is Rochelle! But we were really pleased we chose this motel. Lovely tidy, clean, modern motel room. There is a stream and native bush out the back of the rooms and lots of native birds singing. It was lovely to wake to the birds and we saw gorgeous kereru (natie wood pigeon) from our room.

Great location, a short walk from the town centre. We didn't really see our hosts as they were out when we arrived and had told us they would leave a key. This was fine with us :-)

My only comment would be that in comparison to other motels we stayed at during our Canterbury trip, this motel wasn't so generous with their "extras", eg. there was an advertised charge for wi-fi, DVD hire, towel hire etc. I had enjoyed the fact that these extras were complementary in other motels and disappointed we would have to pay for wi-fi, especially as the 3G reception in our room wasn't good. But a small complaint really.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks for your positive feedback on our motel and service. The native birds and bush are just wonderful added bonus. What a shame we never got to discuss our extras as we now offer complimentary DVD's and WIFI from May-October. We have since updated our compendium information to let all future guests now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    45
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
87
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked on-line and received confirmation ref #. Were told the next day that unit was unavailable. Were offered two rooms at an extra cost of $140. Asked for discount given that this was not our error, and was offered a $5 discount. We asked for a reconsideration of this. The Motel disputed that we even had a booking, despite them cancelling it. How do you cancel something which doesn't exist ?? Anyway, we posted a review on this forum and received a text from Motel early the next morning calling me a "[--]". Queried the text and confirmed it was me they were referring to. We rebooked alternative accommodation and visited the Motel 3 times to call the cell # from their Reception and record the greeting so we absolutely know it was them. Unprofessional, rude, & cowardly as they weren't even willing to identify themselves in the texts. Akaroa is a beautiful place with lots of great motels and hospitable people. These guys seem to do well a lot of the time but when they get it wrong, they really get it wrong. Up to all you folk out there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We really are at a loss for words in response to this review, only to say there is very little if any truth in the allegations made by this guest. At future guests discretion we will allow all the other reviews on this site offer a fair reflection of our Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I with our 2 children recently spent a night in Akaroa to get away from yet another round of Christchurch earthquakes. At short notice, La Rochelle came up 'trumps' with a 2 bedroom unit that was ideal for us. The staff gave us a contact for childcare for the evening so we could enjoy a dinner out (Little Bistro...fantastic!). Upon checkout, we got chatting with the owners about all the stress of living through earthquakes and they gave kindly offered us a discount which was not necessary but very thoughtful. Now that life is getting back to normal for us, we'll definitely return to Akaroa, certainly stay at La Rochelle and happily pay the going rate!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thanks RodRod for your review on our property. It was a pleasure to host you and your family and we are pleased we could offer some much needed respite from the ongoing shakes of CHCH. We look forward to your return at La Rochelle soon.
Kind Regards
Jeremy & Richelle Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merbein
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The motel is just as you come into Akaroa, it is small and friendly. It is only a short walk to all the facilities of the town, and we walked most places once we arrived and only used the car to go further afield. The couple who run the motel are friendly and easy to get along with, and most helpful. We spent two nights here, and would recommend it to others. It was good value for money, and having the kitchenette was very useful for providing your own breakfast, and other meals. The rooms are very comfortable and well thought out, the bathroom was slightly small but has all you need including heated towel rails and heaters. We also had our 10 year old daughter with us, and they made a comfortable bed up for her as well. The room we were in had a small garden area with a table and chairs set, where you can hear the stream running past. Akaroa itself is a beautiful quiet little spot to spend a couple of days winding down with a great range of places to eat, and lots of beautiful scenery to enjoy. Overall we enjoyed our stay here, and I'm sure you will too if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Jeremy & I work hard as a young couple to make each guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as we possibly can. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Richelle & Jeremy Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

It is such a pleasure to go into a room and know it is clean, well equipped and that someone actually cares about it. Jeremy and Richelle are a lovely, hard-working young couple who have made the rooms at this motel special by their attention to detail. Plenty of parking and a short walk to excellent restaurants and the waterfront. Akaroa is a charming and delightful little town and well-worth the visit. And La Rochelle is certainly a great place to stay while you do!

Room Tip: If you especially want a room on the first floor, then ask for it when you book. Don't simply t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, USA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our tour of NZed.The motel is located at the edge of town, but everything is within walking distance. The room was very nice, we had a downstairs room with a small patio.It was next to a stream.Very pretty, but we were there in the rains and couldn't sit on the porch due to bugs.The parking lot is small, but accomodates all 9 cars.Akaroa is a great town, but check to see the cruiseboats schedule.We were there one day without them and what a wonderful difference. The passengers take up the whole town and ruin the small,quaint atmosphere.We had booked our room many months,and when we got there they LOWERED our rate.Couldn't believe it.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

It's right on the leading edge of town away from the more touristy spots right by the harbor. Charming balcony terrace overlooking tropical garden and stream, with magnificent mountains for the backdrop. The room was spotless and manager could not have been more warm and helpful. Strolling to the center of this picturesque village and back after a wonderful dinner was magical.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thanks for your comments on our property and lovely town of Akaroa. We try our best
to match great accomodation and service with our unique town of such beauty. We love the
patios and balconies too as they are a lovely surprise for many of our guests. On a fine day they are the perfect place to relax with a glass of vino.
See you again soon.
Jeremy & Richelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Rochelle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Address: 1 Rue Grehan | cnr Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex (built 2003) offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, continental breakfast, Wireless Broadband & Guest Laundry available. Long stay & Seasonal special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rochelle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.