We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tresori Motor Lodge

Tresori Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tresori Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Tresori Motor Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Rue Jolie & Church St, Akaroa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well located motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed one night in Akaroa and found the Tresori Motor Lodge online.

The motel is well located close to the wharf where wildlife cruises leave from and where you'll find some decent cafes. The greeting we received was very friendly. We arrived a little early and just wanted to park so that we could go on the dolphin cruise, however our room was ready and were able to check in. I liked that the milk isn't just put in your fridge. We were given a choice of full-cream or skim milk which I have never experienced before and really appreciated.

The room was comfortable and well equipped. The entrance is via a sliding door and the bed is very close by so I agree with other reviewers about there being a lack of privacy, however there are two layers of window dressing. If you wanted a bit of privacy you can shut the blinds and then later there are black-out curtains.

As a motor lodge there aren't the facilities that you'd get in a hotel. No onsite restaurant etc and you are requested to clean your own dishes. No dishwashing provisions were provided but I suspect you could request them from the reception.

Tresori is a comfortable place to stay, it doesn't have bells and whistles but it isn't priced as if it does. I would stay there again if I was in Akaroa. It was clean, friendly and well located - everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Napier
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We agree with other reviewers in that Tresori is a very well situated place to stay and is well equipped. However, despite being asked to wash and dry our dishes, there was no wash brush supplied. Also, it is the only place we have stayed where wi-fi is not complimentary ($3.00 per 30 minute connection_ and we could not connect as there was some problem with the system. However, free wi-fi is available from the local library across the street. A comfortable stroll to many restaurants and cafes and Akaroa is a beautiful place to spend time to re-charge and explore. A beautiful village and lovely friendly people in shops and museums. The accommodation was very clean, warm, quiet and a very pleasant place to stay. Would recommend and just fine-tune the wi-fi!!

Room Tip: Downstair rooms were good as saved lugging luggage up the stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Motel was well equipped and had everything that we needed for our two night stay in Akaroa. Motel is close to the cafes/bars/restaurants which is very handy. Would have been nice to have free internet connection as everywhere else we stayed did have. Would stay again if in Akaroa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Akaroa itself is a lovely place. Tresori in a very good location near the waterfront (although it's one street back so there is no view). Pretty basic room although it had most things you would need. Room lacked privacy due to large glass sliding doors which overlooked the car park but provided the only natural light into the room. Considerably overpriced, although I understand Akaroa accommodation is apparently expensive. They provided a highchair and travel cot for my baby, which was very helpful.
No free wifi - seriously? Get with the times. We stayed in 11 different hotels on our road trip and they all offered free wifi, and most weren't as expensive per night as this.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was my last night accommodation in the South Island – Akaro is a fantastic place to visit and if you are on two wheels, a great little trip out from Christchurch on some very twisty roods!! You must take the scenic routes that take you to the summit in AKaro, you won’t be disappointed with the views. The accommodation was brilliant, very clean, well maintained and a welcoming and accommodating start to my visit – you cannot ask for more than that! The motor lodge is located approx. 5 minutes walk from the waters edge, plus a further 10 minute walk to the beginning of the town. The accommodation was very quiet and clean, came with a TV and Sky, along with tea and coffee facilities . .plus a fridge. The carpark is flat which is another bonus if on a bike and it’s covered in tarmac (some of the places I stayed in were ’metal’ (gravel), which is no pleasant. Price was reasonable and value for money – I paid more in other place for less. I would defiantly stay here again

Room Tip: I had a corner room which had a spa bath. i was also able to park my bike motorbike out of sight fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Tresori Motor Lodge is just back from the water front, beautiful spot
Owner very nice and accommodating , rooms clean and tidy, well thought out.
We had upstairs accommodation next to the road, noise did disturb us a little.
The Spa, while a nice feature has the shower over it, we found stepping in and out a little slippery.
Overall a nice stay in beautiful Akoroa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The room had minimal natural light and was tucked away in the corner. It was close to the waterfront but no views unless you wanted to pay more. The towels were thinning, there was no extractor fan in the bathroom and you had to use the guest laundry as there was no ironing board or iron in the rooms. We had to ask for our towels to be refreshed and took our rubbish out ourselves. The owner chose to trim the hedges outside our room on the Saturday morning at 9.30am. This was not necessary and disturbed what started as a pleasant morning's relaxation. On the plus side, the kitchen was well outfitted, the TV had all the channels we needed, the rooms were quiet, the beds confortable. It wouldn't take a lot of improvements to make this a really great place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tresori Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresori Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Rue Jolie & Church St, Akaroa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tresori Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Luxury Motel in the centre of Akaroa just 50 metres from Waterfront, Shops and Restaurants. Large Studios with King size beds and spas. Spacious family apartments also available. Seasonal Rates and Specials available, minimum stay may apply on certain dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tresori Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresori Hotel Akaroa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tresori Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.