We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tresori Motor Lodge

Tresori Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tresori Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Tresori Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Rue Jolie & Church St, Akaroa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This motel is centrally located being just a block back from the water making it only a minute walk from all the restaurants. The accommodation was on an excellent standard and the owners were very friendly. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for one night in a two-bedroom unit and found it to be immaculate throughout. Our English host and Kiwi hostess were welcoming and helpful. We have previously stayed in Les Troupes but this was definitely a cut above. The only drawback that we could see was the lack of a balcony/sitting area to gather for a glass of wine but this is a triviality. We will certainly be staying there on future visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for three nights and it was ok but nothing to write home about.

Clean and reasonably spacious rooms but expensive for what you got compared to most other places we stayed in NZ.

Having to use communal laundry to iron something is a pain (no charge though I hasten to add) and woken each morning by another guest talking on his mobile outside his room at 7am.

Host was very friendly and welcoming but his wife needs a lesson in service and smiling...it's like she's doing you a favour...sorry but it's true.

Nothing luxury about it, and not worth paying extra for honeymoon suite.

We wouldn't go back but it's not so bad as to avoid at all costs, just don't expect anything more than a motor lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Not much of a property really. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, but that was about as far as it went. The decor was basic bland, and the lack of mechanical ventilation or A/C was a big negative. Another disappointment was the $8 charge for the laundry, which was offered complimentary in similar properties.

The saving grace was Akaroa itself - a very pretty town with some great bars, coffee shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narbonne, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This motel was in a good location, was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was special with a corner bath for two, unfortunately we didn't have time for this but the shower was good. The accommodation had everything we needed. Even though there was no a/c there was a fan and it was very hot the 1st evening of our stay and this was adequate. We would recommend Tresori Motor Lodge if you stay in the lovely resort of Akoroa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The motel claims to offer "luxury accommodation", whereby the term "luxury" is relative. For me, "luxury" has to include A/C, even if you don´t need it, and the furniture and decor must be in pristine condition, which it isn´t (any more) at the TRESORI. We stayed here for three nights; one in unit 8, a one-bedroom unit, and two in unit 9, a studio. Although unit 9 is smaller and slightly less expensive, we actually preferred it, as it was possible to watch the flat-screen TV from the bed. The TV in the bedroom of unit 8 is still the older type. The carpet in unit 9 was also less soiled. I don´t mean that the motel is dirty - definitely not, but there are signs of normal wear and tear. The motel still offers a very good standard. It´s true that the price is relatively high, but the supply of good accommodation in AKAROA is limited, so the prices are in accordance with supply and demand. Other reviewers have complained about the lack of privacy on the ground floor, so ask for a room on the upper level. The motel is very near to restaurants and cafés. There is minor noise pollution from the road, the school and swimming pool over the road. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The upper level is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

For the $185.00 per night we paid when quoted $180.00 we expected a bit more.

Firstly the things it didn't have 1. Aircon or an adequate fan which is essential when hot 2. An iron and ironing board which is essential when you want to touch up your clothes to attend a wedding (did have a single iron which we had to share with everyone else at he complex) 3. Complimentary wifi 4. Proper room service (Do not clean dishes, change towels or replenish tean and coffee) 5. No views 6. Clearly identified car spaces (One idiot took up multiple car parks leaving many guests struggling to park onsite.

What it does have is 1. It is easy to find 2. Close to shops, food places and main wharf.

Probably would not stay again largely due to the items listed above and the fact the owners appeared to be heavy smokers and every tiem we opened a window or door the smell wafted in.

Room Tip: Upstairs to avoid noises from units above coming through the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.7 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 5 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Village Inn
Akaroa Village Inn
#15 of 27 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
La Rive Akaroa Motel
La Rive Akaroa Motel
#4 of 5 in Akaroa
3.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tresori Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresori Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Rue Jolie & Church St, Akaroa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tresori Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Luxury Motel in the centre of Akaroa just 50 metres from Waterfront, Shops and Restaurants. Large Studios with King size beds and spas. Spacious family apartments also available. Seasonal Rates and Specials available, minimum stay may apply on certain dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tresori Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresori Hotel Akaroa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tresori Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.