We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pohatu Penguin experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pohatu Penguin Habitat

Pohatu Penguin Habitat
8/2 Rue Balguerie | Wildside Booking Office, Akaroa, New Zealand
+64 3-304 8542
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pohatu penguins is a family owned business that offers 4WD safaris trip to the Largest Little penguin colony on mainland New Zealand. Conservation based tours include: -Evening penguin tours -Scenic nature safaris (2 or 4 hours) -Sea-kayaking with seals and other wildlife -24 or 48 hour package including accommodation in the middle of the penguin colony
Whangarei
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pohatu Penguin experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was an absolutely amazing experience in Akaroa. 4 Wheel drive experience over one of the most scenic roads with photo stops on demand. Wonderful harbour views off the crater rim. Enjoy the tranquil surroundings and bird life of the beautiful Tuakakahikuru scenic reserve. Also includes a guided penguin colony walk in season. Penguins nesting in their natural habitat. Biggest Penguin colony on mainland New Zealand. One of the best experiences we have ever had. Would definitely go again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas Ontario Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Phoatu Sea Kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We booked this tour online prior to departing on our 12 day Australia New Zealand cruise. Kevin met us at the marina where the tender from the ship dropped us. We met Muffy and once the other four participants arrived we headed out for Flea Bay. The half hour drive was very scenic and Muffy stopped so we could take pictures. Once we arrived at the farm where the kayaks were provided we met Benoit, our guide. We left our personal belongings in the vehicle that Muffy drove us there in. Benoit provided protective jackets, life vests, dry pack for storage of anything you can't get wet, such as camera, and the rubber skirt that was attached to the kayak to keep out water while we paddled. We had purchased aqua shoes in preparation for the excursion and were very happy we did. We had to walk through a rocky shallow area to get into the kayaks, and also when we were getting out. We had no kayaking experience, but Benoit gave us the basics. Although we were sure we would capsize our kayak, after a short time we felt more comfortable and stable. The paddling was quite a work out for our arms and shoulders. We saw lots of seals along the shore, and even a young yellow eyed penguin among us as we paddled. Other kayakers in our group were experienced and also offered advice when needed. Benoit maneuvered his kayak, that he was paddling with Muffy, close enough to get our camera from us and take our picture. Unfortunately because the sea was too choppy we couldn't get out of the bay, but that was quite enough for us anyway. Benoit thought it was risky in the rough open sea water. We are anxious to kayak again after this introduction. After the guys hauled the kayaks ashore we headed back to the house and Benoit provided tea, coffee and cookies. Nice ending touch before we drove back to the marina to catch our ship tender. We would definitely recommend this to anyone who is up for an adventure that is exhilarating and challenging.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Penguins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were taken by minibus from central Akaroa to a farm in Flea Bay. Along the way we stopped a couple of times to take photos of the stunning scenery. When we got to the farm we saw an orphaned penguin chick being fed sardines. We then walked down to the sea to watch him learning to swim. After that we put on camouflage tops so that we could walk through the area where the penguins' nest boxes were without disturbing them. We walked along the coast to a couple of viewing points hoping to see the penguins come ashore for the night. Unfortunately by the time it was almost dark only a couple had come ashore.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cute Penguins and Great Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our small group tour on the back roads of Akaroa. Penguins nesting and lots of birds and sheep. Hillsides are so pretty. This is a family run business and our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We had a very fun time!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stay in flea bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

It was a beautiful stay in flea bay. Nice to be close to nature and see the sheeps, penguins and fur seals.. the beautiful views in akaroa.. thanks to kevin and wife.. ben and shireen for the pleasant experience. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pohatu Penguin Habitat also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pohatu Penguin Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pohatu Penguin Habitat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.