We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Brasserie Kitchen And Bar

The Brasserie Kitchen And Bar
41 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 8585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Akaroa
Price range: $4 - $38
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar, Eclectic, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "The Brasserie is Akaroa's newest restaurant. Your hosts, Carlos and Saowani invite you to step into their beautiful garden and escape the hustle and bustle outside. We have an a la carte menu with electic and French European influence as well as Asian inspired menu. We have a wide range of boutique wines and beers available to compliment to our Menu. The focus is on local, seasonal ingredients and there is an abundance of fresh vegetables as well as Asian and European herbs from our garden. There is also a BBQ menu to enjoy. Indoor and outdoor seating. We are open 8am till late 7 days a week, so come and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner with us or just soak up the atmosphere with a drink. We also have a range of pastries and muffins to accompany our great Allpress coffee."
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Brasserie has ambiance, warmth, friendliness. The food was well cooked and nicely presented without being outstanding in any way. I don't like whole leaf salad served in a bowl, it is too hard to handle it gracefully. I did like the blue cod, in my opinion a very under rated fish dish.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    33
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shocking service - our order was forgotten!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We thought we were going to a lovely place for dinner...surroundings lovely, but service not so great. First of all we were greeted by an Asian lady who's English was shocking, she couldn't understand us (Kiwis) and then sent a waiter to get the orders again, he told us she was the owner! Surely she should know her menu. Entree came which was nice, main never came, meanwhile we drank a bottle of wine which was overpriced and after questioning staff (my husband was getting rather grumpy by this stage) we were told it wouldn't be too far away. The chef came and apologised and offered us a complimentary coffee or dessert, we said a glass of wine would be appreciated instead. Eventually our main came which was very nice, but sorry folks you guys need to make some changes if you want to survive in a lovely place like Akaroa. With the right staff this place would be lovely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food overpriced, service poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We went here for lunch and found the service slow and unfriendly, and the food and drinks overpriced and nothing special. The Brasserie strikes me as a tourist trap that probably caters to foreigners who may not realise that this is not a typical kiwi restaurant experience. Sure the garden is nice to sit in, but a waiter who barely speaks two words to you and is verging on surly, is not what I expect when paying $50 for a lunch for 2 people (2 lunch mains and a coffee and soft drink). The mains themselves were very small and after we finished we just wished we had gone to the fish and chip shop or the bakery. They would have been cheaper and nicer!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely garden tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a lovely tea here in a beautiful garden setting, very clean and very friendly staff.
The food was excellent and service very good. I would recommend the Brasserie to anyone wanting a good afternoon tea etc

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cd0gtheb0mb, Owner at The Brasserie Kitchen And Bar, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea in our beautiful surroundings and thank you for taking the time to write a review it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had lunch here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Pity weather was bad as the setting is just beautiful. Our food was lovely and the service very pleasant.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cd0gtheb0mb, Owner at The Brasserie Kitchen And Bar, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. You will have to come back and visit when the weather is better and experience the gardens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie Kitchen And Bar also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Brasserie Kitchen And Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brasserie Kitchen And Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.