We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Escargot Rouge

L'Escargot Rouge
67 Beach Road | PO Box 105, Akaroa, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 20 Restaurants in Akaroa
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My sisters and I ( 5 of us) went here this weekend for coffee only but there was so many yummy delights in the cabinet, we couldn't say no and then came back the next day to try out some more. Delicious slices and generous servings. The coffees also came with a toffee snap type of biscuit, a nice touch. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Continental Breakfast is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This breakfast got our last 2 days in NZ off to the right start. Pain au chocolat, croissant, baguette, fruit, yogurt and juice. Pair that with a flat white and you're set for the day. Service is classically French.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Tiny little bakery but great selection of treats and great breakfasts. Pricey but it's a tourist town after all. Would definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doyleston, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great cakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We just had few pieces of cakes to take away, then we had the outside on the bench at seaside. mine was the very best chocolate cupcake! masive size, rich, moist!! a bomb of chocolate that I loved! my husband had 2 other pieces of lollie cake and something else that he really liked and his not as sweet toothed as me!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Please don't reward their surly service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We entered the cafe on a cold and blustery day, it was warm and there was coffee but that's about the only good things I can say. The lady serving us stood with her arms crossed while we decided what we wanted to order, she had a look of disgust on her face which I couldn't believe. We had coffee and cakes which were ok but the whole experience was soured with her scowling at us for the duration of our stay. The only time she cracked a smile was when we left! If you are expecting good coffee and French patisserie quality you will be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escargot Rouge also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to L'Escargot Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Escargot Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.