We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not amazing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
4.5 of 5 Cottage   |   6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed here for one night in Jan 2011. I think we had a cottage called Overton. One bedroom cottage with a good size lounge, kitchen area and a small deck with a view of the town in the distance.

It is a fair hike out of town - a car is essential. I'm not sure I'd fancy a walk back up the hill in the dark.

On the plus side, the cottage was very nice. Loads of space for two people. It made a really pleasant change from hotel rooms.

One thing we weren't keen on - the spa bath - we turned it on and lots of brown/black bits came out of it. No idea what... told reception in the morning, they didn't seem overly phased.

This place is ok - lots going for it, but if you want to be able to walk around the town after a couple of glasses of the local vino, you'd be better off staying in the town. It's generally a quiet town so I'm sure there are some other lovely places.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    50
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed just one night in Akaroa at the end of our four day walk on the Banks Peninsula track. The cottages were the perfect way to end our trek. Just outside of town but only a few minutes drive away, the cottages are very peaceful and newly renovated. They are up on the hillside overlooking Akaroa bay with a beautiful lawn to lay on and soak up the sun. We even had two ducks visit us on our deck in the morning! The staff were all very friendly and enthusiastic. I would have no hesitation in recommending the cottages to friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Great quiet retreat set up on the hill overlooking Akaroa. The service was friendly and the cabins set well apart for privacy. The log woodburner was fabulous on cold winter nights - it's a great place to put your feet up and relax. Just a five minute drive into town to the restaurants and shops or a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is a fantastic find. The room we had (Rowan) was fantastic - great facilities with a wonderful view over Akaroa harbour. Really friendly and helpful owners too.

You'll probably be better off to have a car - it's a little way to the town centre from here (5 mins by car).

The deal we got with an included continental breakfast was great - usually "continental breakfast" deals are poor, but not here - really nice package, lovely food, well presented.

In winter, you can't beat the feeling of sitting in front of the fantastic in-room fire, warm and cosy looking over that gorgeous harbour.

We will happily return if we are lucky enough to get to Akaroa again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, co
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We drove into Akaroa without a reservation and stumbled upon this jewel. We stayed in the croquet cabin and had the most wonderful experience. The cabin was cozy, we had a roaring fire to settle our nights, a big jacuzzi tub that was glorious and the owners couldn't be sweeter. I highly recommend the Akaroa Cottages. We checked out another motel in town and for the same price, we had a peaceful cottage all to ourselves, with roses wafting into our room, the bluebirds singing, and laundry facilities which made our next part of our trip a breeze. The cottages are a short jaunt(I mean short! 1000 meters maybe) from town, but feel a million miles away from everything.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

This was our first trip to New Zealand - when we saw this hotel online, we decided to stay in Akaroa. Akaroa was beautfiul, and the cottages were clean, quaint, comfortable and pretty. We stayed in the Bushside cottage, up against the hill (with sheep grazing just inches away from our windows), with a nice view of the harbor. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and the cottage cat that roamed the grounds was also very friendly. :) The room had a fire burning stove (with fresh stocked firewood outside) and a big jet-filled bathtub. We also liked that we could "rent" (for free) a DVD from the main office for a quiet night in. We really enjoyed our stay here, and would love to come back.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

we wanted a nice quiet place to stay - and found it! we had the Croquet Hut, a studio apartment and it was perfect for us. Nice and roomy, TV and DVD player and DVDs to borrow from reception. It was cold and wet when we were there so we lit the fire and settled in with some films. We spent a few days here exploring the area and it was beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akaroa Cottages is now part of Heritage Hotels group (Heritage Hotels), and is managed also by managers Megan and Kyle Hazeldine. We have recently upgraded most of our cottages with new curtains, carpet and paint with some new furnishings. Perfectly located just 1.5 kilometres from the historic and unique French settlement of Akaroa, this idyllic boutique resort offers luxurious self-contained accommodation in a truly magnificent setting. Capturing the charm of this special location, Akaroa Cottages are crafted from timber and stone and are surrounded by tranquil native bush. These Private spacious cottages are complemented by stunning views of the beautiful Akaroa Harbour and the undulating hills of Banks Peninsula. Most of the Cottages have Double Corner Spa baths, Log burners and Views and they are all privately set. We cater for groups, couples weddings and Families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.