We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Jacques Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akaroa Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Akaroa Village Inn to your Saves list
Akaroa Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   81 Beach Road | Canterbury, Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Jacques Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My mother and myself stayed in unit 51 which was a two bedroom unit upstairs in the Jacques Village block. We spent two nights over Anzac weekend and Akaroa was very busy. The unit was very tidy and clean and we love every minute of our stay. The unit was modern and comfortable with wonderful friendly staff. I would not hesitate to stay in this unit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    49
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
78
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My mother and I spent two nights in a two bedroom La Voyager unit. It was very clean and comfortable and perfectly suitable for our needs. Along with two bedrooms we had a comfortable living room and a kitchen. Although we were at street level we weren't bothered by passing pedestrians and it was actually very convenient to be able to park our car right outside. Booking was a breeze and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northam, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night as a couple in room 67, which was on the ground floor, a few metres from the main street. We had a nice view of the harbour, which is what attracted us, but the curtains did not have a netting curtain, so unless you like having pedestrians looking in your room, the curtains have to be closed. While the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was old, tired and smelt a bit musty. It was comfortable enough, but not particularly clean; especially the bathroom. Our host said the room had a new owner who would be renovating it, which would be very worthwhile. We stayed in numerous lodgings during our 3 weeks in NZ, most of which were much cheaper and of a similar or better standard. Given it was off peak, I felt the room was way overpriced for what is was.

Room Tip: If you want the benefit of harbour views take a first floor room for some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the hotel overnight in a unit overlooking the harbour. Just called in to check out room and couldn't resist the beautiful four-poster bed and spa bath on a cold and wet day. Lovely service and great position with many eating places close by. Our only gripe would be the mattress on our bed. It seemed very old and had no 'give' in it at all. Neither of us had a great deal of sleep as we couldn't get comfortable. A better mattress would have made it perfect!

Room Tip: Check the mattress first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful night in one of the suites. A very pleasant bathroom and a very good bed with a beautiful view on the harbour from the balcony. The service was very nice, very friendly, the room very clean and we had every thing we needed. Great location too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Akaroa Village Inn is located at the western end of Akaroa, adjacent to the main wharf. Check in was efficient and a map and information were disseminated at the same time.We stayed in Unit 46 which is a quiet 2br. apartment, very comfortable, good-sized bathroom with a Queen bed in one room and a double bed in other. No fly screens or aircon. which made it stuffy in the warm weather.The swimming pool provided refreshing relief. Pay for wifi. Restaurants and attractions are meters from the door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great location right in the centre of Akaroa, opposite the wharf and near the bars and restaurants. The woman who welcomed us was really friendly and helpful, made sure we had a map of the town on which she pointed out the best restaurants and places of interest. But best of all the accommodation was great, a lovely small suite with a separate bedroom, nicely furnished and equipped, and with a small patio overlooking Beach Road and the Wharf. Only downside is the lack of wi-fi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Akaroa Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Village Inn

Address: 81 Beach Road | Canterbury, Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Akaroa Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Akaroa Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Village Hotel Akaroa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaroa Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.