We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Waterfront Superior Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akaroa Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Akaroa Village Inn to your Saves list
Akaroa Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   81 Beach Road | Canterbury, Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Northampton
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Go for the Waterfront Superior Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It seems that the Akaroa Village Inn offers a number if different types of accommodation. We stayed in one of the Waterfront Superior Suites and were absolutely delighted to have stayed there. The accommodation, which is really a mini apartment was very, very spacious. A large lounge area with a small dining table and kitchen area at one end. The kitchen did not have cooking facilities, but there were tea & coffee making facilities and a toaster, plus plenty of crockery, cutlery, glasses etc. Milk was provided when we checked in

The apartment was right on the waterfront with picture windows and doors running along the whole side of the lounge with a balcony which also ran along the length of the lounge. The view across the lake/inlet with the mountains in the background was just wonderful.

The bed was king sized and very comfortable. The bathroom was also huge with an enormous double whirlpool bath in the corner. The overall standard of the furniture, fittings etc. really was first class. Apparently there are laundry facilities on site, but we didn't use them so can't comment. The same applies to the swimming pool

Breakfast is not provided but there are numerous cafes and restaurants only minutes walk away, so that was not a problem. In the evening we dined at The Trading Rooms and had a lovely meal there

I don't know what the other types of accommodation are like, but the Waterfront Superior Suites are first class and a perfect place to stay in Akaroa as you are right in the centre of everything.

Room Tip: Go for the Waterfront superior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
79
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Per our travel agent, we were supposed to have a La Voyager Apartment overlooking the Akaroa Harbor. We did not; the excuse was that they were all booked, so we got a dumpy, dingy room #57 off a small hall on the back street. The "apartment" actually had two bedrooms, one with a double bed and the second with two single beds. The bathroom and kitchen were small. The living area had two dumpy, worn sofas, TV, and coffee table. The round table in the kitchen was much too small to eat on. Parking was in the lot in the back of the hotel. They charge for internet and coin laundries, neither of which we used.
The WORST thing about our stay (on a Friday night) was the HORRIBLE noise from the bars on the main street around the corner from the hotel. The noise (aka "music") was supposed to stop at 10:00 pm but went on until at least 11:15. and according to the hotel management "there was nothing they could do."
Breakfast was provided at Bully Hayes down the street.
This was one of the two worst places we stayed in our entire month in New Zealand. A dump.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location just by the water with excellent views! Close to all restaurants and boat trips departing from the pier. Large and comfortable with all new facilities. The only thing to complain about was the boring pool and pool area, although heated and nice! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment and it was clean, well equipped and we appreciated the balcony overlooking the sea and central location opposite the wharf where the dolphin swimming trips depart. Everything you could want was included (apart from aircon) and the only downside was that the taxis used to gather early in the morning under the balcony making it a little noisy if the windows were open. Nevertheless we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Was quiet disappointed in this place for what we paid. When one is paying NZ $350 a night not to have air conditioning on a very hot summers night along with no sky TV when we really wanted to watch the Mens tennis final in Melbourne , we think its over priced ! Then you have the cruise ship buses waking you up early and there are heaps of them backing up then leaving their engines running for some time right outside your door. So would never stay there again but for some one who is an early riser and who doesn't care about having Sky TV its in a great position amongst it all and the rooms are very clean and tidy. Also the staff are lovely and friendly :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind being in the center of it all -- across from a busy wharf, lots of walkers, gawkers, and late-night talkers (under your balcony), this is the place for you. Great views for sure, but noisy and bright at night in our waterfront unit (Jacques), so despite the heat (very hot in Akaroa that day),had to close windows and curtains. Crews getting ready for an incoming cruise ship began set-up at 5:30 a.m., backing up buses etc. Pluses: Very clean and roomy unit, close to restaurants.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basejump
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were lucky enough to get the last room available in the town - we didn't book in advance and would suggest doing so if you are going to be there during the busy summer season. We had a two bedroom courtyard unit which appeared to have been recently refurbished - everything was very modern and very very comfortable - in a word, we were impressed! there is no outlook to speak of from the units but the water and the waterside park is across the road and there are picnic tables if you wish to take in the views. the location is terrific and the summit tourist drive is well worth the trip. this is a quaint sea side village - a nice place to visit for a night (or two if you want to do some walking on the peninsula). There is a pool that is basic but adequate for a quick dip. I would encourage the owners to consider providing complementary internet but to be fair, not many properties in NZ do. the units have crockery and a microwave so you can easily do your own breakfast and a basic meal; restaurants and waterside bars are very close by. check in and check out was quick and efficient. be aware that access to the first floor units is by stairs only so this may be an access issue for some.

Room Tip: court yard units dont have a view but are more than adequate. that said, the harbour is very nice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akaroa Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Village Inn

Address: 81 Beach Road | Canterbury, Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Akaroa Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Akaroa Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Village Hotel Akaroa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaroa Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.