We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akaroa Criterion Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Akaroa Criterion Motel to your Saves list
Akaroa Criterion Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   75 Rue Jolie | Canterbury, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Lovely rooms and a great reception from the lady who was looking after the place... This location is really great and only about a five minute walk to the main shopping part. We were however behind the 4Square supermarket and were woken both mornings before dawn with trucks unloading goods for the shop. This is one of those things that we can't do much about. The room was immaculate and clean and friendly staff so we can't complain and would return. Also handy to great restaurants that are in the opposite direction to the main town and would highly recommend e.g. The Brasserie and The Little bistro....

Room Tip: Ask for one with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your great comments. Yes our minder is lovely such a gracious lady.

Sorry to hear the milk truck woke you up delivering the bread and milk but you are right. There is not a lot we can do about that. This is a very busy time of year.

However we are pleased you enjoyed our accommodation and our town. There is certainly a lot to see and do here. We hope to see you when you return to our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    57
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
124
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed two nights in what I think must be (apart from the penthouse) the best room in the motel. I can't remember the number, but it was top floor at the far end from the office, and looked down the street to the harbour and a little jetty.

The room was enormous, and it was a delight to be able to spread out a bit. It was well-equipped with a comfortable sofa, TV, and DVD player. The bathroom was reasonably large and was clean and well-maintained. The bed was very comfortable. I liked the bright decor, which suited the "coastal" ambiance.

The location is great, allowing an easy walk to everywhere in town. Cafe, supermarket and bank are adjacent, and the posher restaurants are a short saunter around the bay.

I had read about the noise from the supermarket freezer, but it was pretty minor, and with the bathroom window closed was no more than you get from any motel bar fridge. We didn't lose any sleep over it. The kitchenette doesn't include a hotplate, but there is a communal barbeque with a side burner, so that is one way around that.

We enjoyed our couple of days in Akaroa (such a pretty town) and the Banks Peninsula (as an Aussie I don't think I've ever driven on such steep and winding roads before!) and we would thoroughly recommend Criterion as a place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. Your unit was unit 12 as you descibed and yes you can lie in bed and look at the harbour with no one to see in. Always a bonus.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here in the town and would look forward to you returning one day.
Guess if you aren't used to winding roads it can get a bit hairy, but really not that bad once you are used to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over New Years and found the room to be spacious, but a little tired / dated.

There are fantastic sea views from the balcony and the motel is north facing for the sun

The bed was a king size which was good, but I personally found it to be a bit hard for my liking.

The shower was a large walk in type and had good pressure and the bathroom was very big

Only downside is the local supermarket is right behind the motel, and from very early you can hear trucks coming to deliver goods and the forklift moving around the back.
This was the only let down for this motel

Room Tip: the rooms on 1st and 2nd floor get fantastic views of Akaroa Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your commments.
I guess decor and the hardness or softness of the beds are a personal thing. We do not feel it is tired or dated and because most people like a firm yet comfortable bed we have tried for a happy medium. We can never please all of the people all of the time
The Motel actually faces West to get all the afternoon sun.
Yes the supermarket can get very busy especially at New year when you stayed and does have some delivery trucks in the morning however the forklift is only used for the big delivery trucks which come well into the day.
Once again thanks for you comments and even though you only spent 2 days here we hope you had a great time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Criterion for two nights in late January 2014 where we found the most friendly and accommodating management we have experienced, being avid travellers we are most genuine in making this comment. The rooms were extra large and cleanliness immaculate, with beautiful products to lather yourself. The view over the bay from our first floor unit was superb. There are laundry facilities available which would be an added bonus if you choose to stay for an extended time. Walking distance to lovely restaurants, we can highly recommend, The Brasserie in the main street area, and Ma Maison just across the road. Quaint little shops to browse or buy and the supermarket right at the back door is and added bonus.
We will definitely return, hopefully sooner than later as we have fallen in love with Akaroa, it's people and the hospitality.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments.
Akaroa is a very friendly place and we pride ourselves on that.
we try to run our business as we would like to find when we travel.
We are please that you love Akaroa and welcome your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Akaroa is a nice small French town on the Eastern coast of South island, about 75 kms away from Christchurch.
Even though it is just a motel but the rooms are humongous. There is a balcony with every room, all with nice sea views, though the ones on the 2nd floor have a better view. The bathroom is also big and = the bath products/cosmetics were all of FCUK brand. The rooms may notexactly fall in the luxury category but still are very comfortable and cozy and big.
The motel is just behind the only grocery store in Akaroa so it is very conveniently located. There are a couple of restaurants across the street, the others are all about 1 km away.
Not exactly a party place though a few bars are open till about midnight and you can find a few poeple there.

Room Tip: Get the room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
We do have a couple of rooms that dont have sea views but we dont advertise them as having sea view, however most do have great sea views and yes the top floor is certainly the best
Yes the grocry store is very handy location, however all the restaurants in Akaroa are within 5 minutes walk and certainly not a kilometre away. No Akaroa is not a party town usually however restaurants and bars can get busy on the weekends.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our lovely town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The motel was excellent and the location brilliant with views from the balcony over the harbour. Location is right behind the shops and the room as comfortable in size as you'd like. It was great having a laundry downstairs and the ability to take a novel from the shelf if you replaced with another, great idea. The only challenge if you have kids is to take some DVDs as tv is limited even through sky.
For a quiet break Akaroa is worth the visit then book this hotel. The only reason it's not rated excellent is I save those for hotels with restaurants and gyms on offer.

Room Tip: Try the pizza from the local bakery whilst the pub / restaurant across the road near the water is wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments David.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Akaroa. It certainly is a lovely place.
We do try to keep the customers happy with lots to do :) Our swap a book library is very popular.

With our TV channels we do have 5 sky channels and all Freeview channels which is about another 10 or 12 channels. You can also hire DVD s from the local garage. Mind you with views to die for who needs TV :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We arrived in Akaroa without a reservation had a wander around town and checked out a couple of accommodation options. Then I looked at Trip Advisor and noted a very positive recommendation for the Criterion Motel so we ventured out to find it and I am so pleased we did.

We were given a lovely corner room on the ground floor with awesome views of the harbour, very spacious with king bed, sofa lounge, table and chairs, kitchenette, very roomy bathroom and doors opening to an outside gated patio complete with director's chairs for outdoor use, it was a very comfortable room.

The location was right across the road from the harbour and restaurants and the supermarket and other shops were in the street behind. We ate at Ma Maison right across the road from the motel and I highly recommend it, food and service was excellent. So if you are going to Akaroa you can't go wrong with staying at Criterion Motel and eating at Ma Maison!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.
Yes we are very central to everything and are walking distance to most things.
Our rooms are spacious and we love to make our customers comfortable if we can.
Glad you enjoyed your food as well. There are so many good restaurants in Akaroa it is hard to choose.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you decided to share your comments with us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 5 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.4 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Village Inn
Akaroa Village Inn
#15 of 27 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.1 mi away
Villa Vangioni
Villa Vangioni
#3 of 27 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Criterion Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Criterion Motel

Address: 75 Rue Jolie | Canterbury, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Criterion Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb harbor views from most rooms at this Qualmark rated 4-star plus motel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Super-king beds, private balcony. Double glazing and underfloor heating. Broadband in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Akaroa Criterion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Criterion Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaroa Criterion Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.