We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akaroa Criterion Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Akaroa Criterion Motel to your Saves list
Akaroa Criterion Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   75 Rue Jolie | Canterbury, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The motel was excellent and the location brilliant with views from the balcony over the harbour. Location is right behind the shops and the room as comfortable in size as you'd like. It was great having a laundry downstairs and the ability to take a novel from the shelf if you replaced with another, great idea. The only challenge if you have kids is to take some DVDs as tv is limited even through sky.
For a quiet break Akaroa is worth the visit then book this hotel. The only reason it's not rated excellent is I save those for hotels with restaurants and gyms on offer.

Room Tip: Try the pizza from the local bakery whilst the pub / restaurant across the road near the water is wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments David.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Akaroa. It certainly is a lovely place.
We do try to keep the customers happy with lots to do :) Our swap a book library is very popular.

With our TV channels we do have 5 sky channels and all Freeview channels which is about another 10 or 12 channels. You can also hire DVD s from the local garage. Mind you with views to die for who needs TV :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    57
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
124
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We arrived in Akaroa without a reservation had a wander around town and checked out a couple of accommodation options. Then I looked at Trip Advisor and noted a very positive recommendation for the Criterion Motel so we ventured out to find it and I am so pleased we did.

We were given a lovely corner room on the ground floor with awesome views of the harbour, very spacious with king bed, sofa lounge, table and chairs, kitchenette, very roomy bathroom and doors opening to an outside gated patio complete with director's chairs for outdoor use, it was a very comfortable room.

The location was right across the road from the harbour and restaurants and the supermarket and other shops were in the street behind. We ate at Ma Maison right across the road from the motel and I highly recommend it, food and service was excellent. So if you are going to Akaroa you can't go wrong with staying at Criterion Motel and eating at Ma Maison!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.
Yes we are very central to everything and are walking distance to most things.
Our rooms are spacious and we love to make our customers comfortable if we can.
Glad you enjoyed your food as well. There are so many good restaurants in Akaroa it is hard to choose.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you decided to share your comments with us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

There was nothing we could recall as a fault. That leaves all of the good elements which included: Hospitable manager, very clean exterior and clean hotel room, free wi-fi, outstanding view (Room 9), well appointed room, very comfortable bed, plenty of bath towels, room was well maintained, and the nearby small grocery store, deli, restaurants and a friendly smile with a pleasant greeting around the neighborhood.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our town and the great hospitality that the whole place offers. Akaroa is a friendly town and we look forward to making our tourists happy.
We hope you had a great holiday and look forward to maybe seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our room was perfect. The rooms were big, airy, light and clean. Great value for money.
Owners were pleasant as well as the resident dog and cat.
We almost changed our flights to stay another night as this place was one of the highlights of our 11 day south island tour.
Sounds like a small thing, but nice to have "real" milk for tea and coffee.
I would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Mid floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. Yes the rooms are spacious. The resident cat and dog are always pleasant and love greeting customers. Thats why they tend to sit in the office :)
We always try as well and mostly succeed.
I totally agrree with you re the milk. The real stuff is soooo much better.
We hope you had a great holiday and Akaroa is one of your nicest memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks,Ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Reasonably priced with helpful manager and the VIEW. Walking distance to all restaurants. This is also a good family room as the size and kitchenette allows for breakfast and or a lunch in the room. Plenty for the kids to enjoy.

Room Tip: 2nd floor worth the stairs and $20 NZ extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Yes the view is quite spectacular from the unit you were in, especially when the sun is glinting on the sea.

These are large studio type rooms so maybe not as suitable for families as units with seperate bedrooms. but are more comfortable for couples or even with 3 people.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoy the rest of your time in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a two night stay on the 2nd floor in a large studio (#4). The rooms were clean, well furnished and we had a sunny balcony. We had a beautiful view looking out onto the small wharf and bay. Really friendly hosts.Would really recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you had some good weather as well.
It is great to be able to sit on the balcony and look at the harbour on a sunny day.
Even on a winters day to be able to sit inside and look out at the sea in all its moods is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A nice motel in a good location very well set up but having a spacious studio on the middle floor resulted in the sound of elephants from above until late at night. The proprietors were friendly but didn't seem to care about the impact of this on our sleep even though we had chosen this motel based on their own comments on Trip Advisor about not being able to hear any noise from other rooms.

Room Tip: Do anything you can to avoid a room on the middle floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Yes you did have a family with teenage children in the unit above you and as you said they were up until 11pm and then again at around 7am.

We certainly do care about our customers, but there was very little we could do to help as you didn't inform us until you were leaving the next day.

You had booked our standard room and my husband was looking at upgrading you however when you arrived you asked him for an upgrade. This normally is at the discretion of the Motelier and we do upgrade people from time to time depending on availability.
Once again our apologies and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 5 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.4 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Village Inn
Akaroa Village Inn
#15 of 27 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.1 mi away
Villa Vangioni
Villa Vangioni
#3 of 27 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Criterion Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Criterion Motel

Address: 75 Rue Jolie | Canterbury, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Criterion Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb harbor views from most rooms at this Qualmark rated 4-star plus motel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Super-king beds, private balcony. Double glazing and underfloor heating. Broadband in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Akaroa Criterion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Criterion Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaroa Criterion Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.