We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful part of the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort House Akaroa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beaufort House Akaroa to your Saves list
Beaufort House Akaroa
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Akaroa B&B and Inns
'Queensland Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful part of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

We had a lovely two nights staying at Wilderness House Bed and Breakfast in Akaroa. It can only be described as gorgeous and our hosts friendly charming and helpful with plenty of advice on things to do. Jim and Liz hosted drinks each night - the wine made from their own grapes grown in their own small vineyard - which was a lovely way to meet other travellers, and swap experiences. A wonderful breakfast was provided each morning with plenty of choice for restaurants to visit in the evening.
Our visit to this beautiful part of the world was extremely relaxing, and we couldnt have asked for anything more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

The Wilderness was originally our 2nd choice after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor , however as our 1st was full we called to see if we could get in (4 adults/ two rooms required) and we were so happy we ended up spending a lovely two days with Jim and Liz our hosts.

The house is stunning set in mature gardens with its own vineyard which you can taste the fruits of every evening when Jim helpfully serves you a class at a guest get together at 6.30. Both Liz and Jim are amazingly helpful with their knowledge of surrounding sites; drives and restaurants.

The rooms were decorated to a high standard, totally clean and well maintained (i've taken photos as i'm decorating a new house for inspiration.) Liz has her own interior design business and its shows!

Fantastic home cooked produce (i mentioned i liked rhubarb and the next day it was on the menu) for breakfast every morning, we couldn't have asked for more, if we had had more time we would have stayed longer.

  • Liked — Quality of accomodation and great service provided by hosts
  • Disliked — We couldnt stay longer
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

Historic old house with mature garden in few minutes walk of everything important in Akaroa. Entire house is beautifully decorated with great character and guests have free run of it. The hosts Liz and Jim are charming and the breakfasts they provide are something worth travelling for. A 6.30 pm wine (can be from Wilderness House's own mini-vinyard) and nibbles session for hosts and guests is a great opportunity to meet fellow guests in a relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

We travel a lot for both business and pleasure, so we are fairly discriminating when it comes to accommodations. We are happy to report that the reviews for Wilderness House are accurate.

When we first drove up to the place, we were very impressed with the beautiful gardens. Roses, roses and more roses in full bloom, plus many other beautiful flowers.

The house is a charming 19th home, decorated beautifully by Liz, Jim's wife. Everything is very tastefully done, warm and inviting. Our room, the Fyfe Room, is a corner room with large windows overlooking the gardens. It's very inviting with a private bathroom that's completely modern but antique looking and spotlessly clean.

Jim and Liz are lovely hosts. Breakfast was wonderful with French toast, sliced bananas, and bacon. Also coffee, juices, cold cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt and toast. Jim is very knowledgeable about New Zealand and especially the Akaroa area, and he is very helpful with information and reservations. Jim and Liz also like to host a 6:30 PM wine get-together, so you can have a chance to talk to them and other guests.

Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nearer the water would be a little better
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

We arrived on Christams Eve and had a great 3 days including a brilliant Christmas dinner, with some of the nicest salmon we have ever had. Jim and Liz were great hosts and the evening wine was a great touch. We left very early on the 27th and were provided with a small picnic for our journey. Very Highly recommended as is Akaroa.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2005

We spent our last night in New Zealand after a two week trip, at Wilderness House. Akaroa is beautiful and quaint, and the Wilderness House is a gorgeous historic home close to downtown. You can feel the french influence in Akaroa.
The owners, Jim and Liz were fantastic!! They made us feel very welcome in their home--with a wine reception just for our family after we arrived with wine from the grapes in their vineyard! And after we got home from dinner we enjoyed a glass of port with them and invited them to play some cards with us, which they did! We actually stayed up until about 2am talking with Jim and hearing some wonderful stories.
The next morning we had a delicious gourmet breakfast with fresh salmon and eggs, and we were truly sad to leave our gracious hosts, their beautiful home, and New Zealand.
If you are in Akaroa, we highly recommend a stay at Wilderness House--you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort House Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Akaroa

Address: 42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beaufort House Akaroa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a memorable experience in one of Akaroa’s gracious historic homes. A charming and romantic retreat nestled in a beautiful one acre garden and vineyard. Enjoy cosy open fires and gorgeous bedrooms. Join us for a glass of our estate wine in the evenings. Linger over our special cooked breakfasts. Tranquil, private and secluded yet just a short stroll to the village. Open all year round, multiple night rates and group bookings available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Beaufort House Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort House Akaroa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.