We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B, REALLY NICE HOSTS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort House Akaroa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beaufort House Akaroa to your Saves list
Beaufort House Akaroa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B, REALLY NICE HOSTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here on our two night visit to Akaroa, lovely old home with extra nice hosts, Sharon, Noel & Simon are all naturals and make you feel very welcome, great room, bed,bathroom and very good breakfasts. each night they host drinks with all the guests and we had a truck load of fun. Go there, you will love it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
There were such a wonderful group of guests staying, your stories kept everyone entertained - enjoyed by all with much interest and laughter. Thank you for your kind words, we hope we may see you both again if the Akaroa Cooking School beckons. :) Our best wishes to you both at this
special time of year, Noel & Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
118
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this classical house for four nights and were delighted with everything. Noel & Sharon are wonderful hosts and you quickly feel that you are staying with friends rather than as paying guests.
Beaufort House is brilliantly situated in a very quiet spot surrounded by its own wonderful gardens and small vineyard. The house is sumptuously furnished throughout and the ensuite bedroom was spacious, light and airy and everything had been thoughtfully planned so as to provide a luxurious degree of comfort.
The breakfast provided a comprehensive choice of cooked, cereal and/or fruit and was served by our convivial hosts in their most impressive dining room as were the standard 6.00 pm complimentary glasses of wine with canapés. Can't recommend too highly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Both Noel and I thoroughly enjoyed your company and were sad to see you leave.
We hope you have fond memories of Akaroa, of playing the organ in the beautiful historic St Peters Church, the quietness and relaxation that Akaroa provides. Dio hope all is well in the UK, as we hear that the weather has taken a turn for the worst. Thank you for your kind words our thoughts to you both at Christmas time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I just have to add my high praise to the other contributors. Sharon and Noel welcomed us as family guests to their beautiful B and B. The house and gardens are an absolute picture and well positioned, a short walk from the water and restaurants. The canapes and breakfast totally ruined our diets (but we loved it) and sharing the excitement of Team NZ in the America's Cup races over breakfast will last with us for many years. Bad luck about the final result!
Akaroa is a gem to visit for a romantic getaway and Beaufort House is the perfect place to stay. Thanks Noel and Sharon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roaringmeg, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you! we thoroughly enjoyed your company even if the America's Cup took some precedence over breakfast! So pleased you enjoyed Akaroa it is a beautiful part of NZ to visit much to see and do yet the charm of a small village remains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a fantastic luxury night away in this Brilliant property. Sharon and Noel were amazing hosts, we didn't want to leave! The house is beautifully decorated and furnished. Canapés and drinks in the evening were superb and the homemade breakfast was unbelievably good. I cannot recommend this property and the hosts enough. Loved every minute!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roaringmeg, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed your company, so much in common to talk about, not enough time .... love to see you both back in Akaroa :) Noel & Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I brought my partner here for her 30th birthday, and it exceeded my expectations. The photos on this site don't do it justice at all, because it's been all refurnished with the most amazing french antique furniture. The new owners Sharon and Noel were fantastic hosts. They went above and beyond for every little detail which made for a truly relaxing weekend away. Will definitely be making another visit next time i'm in NZ.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We so enjoyed your company, and to be able to reminise over the sailing trips in Croatia!
Love to see you again when in Akaroa. Our best wishes to you both. Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at wilderness house last weekend with Sharon and Noel. We have had a tough couple of years and were always making excuses why we shouldn't have a weekend getaway. Wilderness house had been recommended to us and we were not disappointed. From the moment we drove up the gorgeous tree lined entrance and were greeted by Sharon and Noel, to the waves goodbye, we had a truly relaxing time. Sharon and Noel could not do enough for us. The tour of the property, the fresh baking and plunger coffee in our room, canapés and drinks before dinner, the most comfortable bed we have slept in, ever! To the best cooked breakfast in the world; we rate this propert 110%. Wilderness house is without a doubt a five star bed and breakfast, and we would recommend it hands down! We cannot thank you enough for your kindness and hospitatity. Jeanette and Bruce McEachen; Christchurch. May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you Jeanette & Bruce for your kind words. So pleased we were able to offer a peaceful haven to you both after such a difficult couple of years, Happier time to celebrate your birthday in beautiful Akaroa. Will send a reminder you when it is grape picking season :) Our best wishes to you both. Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed just one night in Akaroa to get out of Christchurch and have some time to ourselves. Noel and Sharon were the perfect hosts, providing drinks and canapes (herbed salmon vol au vonts and smoked chicken and avocado crostinis - both delicious) in the lounge area, as well as some great conversation. We stayed in the Nalder room, and thoroughly enjoyed the spacious and beautifully appointed room including heated tiles in the en suite to keep your toes warm! The view from both windows is lovely, and the bed, while antique, was amazingly comfortable and plenty of room for a couple. Waking up to the sound of birds chirping and breakfast smells coming up the stairs was pure bliss. They really have the right mix of chattiness and interaction, versus leaving you to enjoy some time alone in their lovely house. Breakfast did not disappoint! Excellent location, a stroll to "town", yet the gorgeous grounds (including a mini vineyard) make you you feel as though you're at a rural retreat. Fully recommend this place for a luxurious getaway with helpful and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort House Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Akaroa

Address: 42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort House Akaroa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a memorable experience in one of Akaroa’s gracious historic homes. A charming and romantic retreat nestled in a beautiful one acre garden and vineyard. Enjoy cosy open fires and gorgeous bedrooms. Join us for a glass of our estate wine in the evenings. Linger over our special cooked breakfasts. Tranquil, private and secluded yet just a short stroll to the village. Open all year round, multiple night rates and group bookings available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaufort House Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort House Akaroa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.