We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Brilliant Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort House Akaroa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beaufort House Akaroa to your Saves list
Beaufort House Akaroa
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Brilliant Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a fantastic luxury night away in this Brilliant property. Sharon and Noel were amazing hosts, we didn't want to leave! The house is beautifully decorated and furnished. Canapés and drinks in the evening were superb and the homemade breakfast was unbelievably good. I cannot recommend this property and the hosts enough. Loved every minute!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roaringmeg, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed your company, so much in common to talk about, not enough time .... love to see you both back in Akaroa :) Noel & Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I brought my partner here for her 30th birthday, and it exceeded my expectations. The photos on this site don't do it justice at all, because it's been all refurnished with the most amazing french antique furniture. The new owners Sharon and Noel were fantastic hosts. They went above and beyond for every little detail which made for a truly relaxing weekend away. Will definitely be making another visit next time i'm in NZ.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We so enjoyed your company, and to be able to reminise over the sailing trips in Croatia!
Love to see you again when in Akaroa. Our best wishes to you both. Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at wilderness house last weekend with Sharon and Noel. We have had a tough couple of years and were always making excuses why we shouldn't have a weekend getaway. Wilderness house had been recommended to us and we were not disappointed. From the moment we drove up the gorgeous tree lined entrance and were greeted by Sharon and Noel, to the waves goodbye, we had a truly relaxing time. Sharon and Noel could not do enough for us. The tour of the property, the fresh baking and plunger coffee in our room, canapés and drinks before dinner, the most comfortable bed we have slept in, ever! To the best cooked breakfast in the world; we rate this propert 110%. Wilderness house is without a doubt a five star bed and breakfast, and we would recommend it hands down! We cannot thank you enough for your kindness and hospitatity. Jeanette and Bruce McEachen; Christchurch. May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you Jeanette & Bruce for your kind words. So pleased we were able to offer a peaceful haven to you both after such a difficult couple of years, Happier time to celebrate your birthday in beautiful Akaroa. Will send a reminder you when it is grape picking season :) Our best wishes to you both. Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed just one night in Akaroa to get out of Christchurch and have some time to ourselves. Noel and Sharon were the perfect hosts, providing drinks and canapes (herbed salmon vol au vonts and smoked chicken and avocado crostinis - both delicious) in the lounge area, as well as some great conversation. We stayed in the Nalder room, and thoroughly enjoyed the spacious and beautifully appointed room including heated tiles in the en suite to keep your toes warm! The view from both windows is lovely, and the bed, while antique, was amazingly comfortable and plenty of room for a couple. Waking up to the sound of birds chirping and breakfast smells coming up the stairs was pure bliss. They really have the right mix of chattiness and interaction, versus leaving you to enjoy some time alone in their lovely house. Breakfast did not disappoint! Excellent location, a stroll to "town", yet the gorgeous grounds (including a mini vineyard) make you you feel as though you're at a rural retreat. Fully recommend this place for a luxurious getaway with helpful and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Trish and i have just spent 4 nights in paradise at the Wilderness House in Akaroa,
with the new owners Noel and Sharon being the perfect hosts.The facilities at Wilderness House are second to none and the setting is enchanting.Loved all the antique furniture and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfasts were to die for and the late afternoon drinks and canapes absolutely sensational.You really felt like you were part of Noel and Sharons family and nothing you asked for was too much trouble.
We would not hesitate to return at some time in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you Trish & Barry for you kind comments - we enjoyed having you both to stay.
Our grapes are now harvested, vines pruned ready for another season . Hopefully we will see you back again from Melbourne for a well deserved break and you can sample some of the vintage!
Best wishes to you both. Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here just after the new owners took over... so a different look is to be had from all the other reviews. Great time was had plus the weather was fantastic as well, nice and warm, no wind and a mild over night temperature. The grapes are all but ready to harvest in a week or two as well! The native bird life is a real treat with all the noise and the like. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your pleasing comments Mark, so pleased we could offer the 'home away from home' and a restful stay, after a busy year for you. Love to see you back in Akaroa in the future with the family! Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was our last B&B (after 4 weeks in NZ) and it was a perfect end. The house has a great history (which is mirrored in the Rooms) and Jim & Liz are perfect hosts.The garden and the little vineyard behind the house giving the place a unique character and made it very hard to leave this place again. The house has 4 Rooms and we missed nothing. The breakfast was amazing and each day special. The hosts even left us the BBQ and the kitchen for one night. Unfortunately Jim & Liy sold this place and mid 2013 there will be new hosts. Hopefully the place will remain like it is. We'll comme again. Martin & Steffi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort House Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Akaroa

Address: 42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beaufort House Akaroa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a memorable experience in one of Akaroa’s gracious historic homes. A charming and romantic retreat nestled in a beautiful one acre garden and vineyard. Enjoy cosy open fires and gorgeous bedrooms. Join us for a glass of our estate wine in the evenings. Linger over our special cooked breakfasts. Tranquil, private and secluded yet just a short stroll to the village. Open all year round, multiple night rates and group bookings available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Beaufort House Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort House Akaroa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.