We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right day best view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Tavern

Hilltop Tavern
5207 Christchurch-Akaroa Road | Little River, Akaroa 7591, New Zealand
03 3251 005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Akaroa
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Café, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Right day best view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Wow just the most spectacular view. Don't drive past get a nice coffee and just sit in the garden and absorb the view of the amazing inlet that is Akaroa. At 470m it affords one of the best views of my weekend in Akaroa. Well worth the stop for a brew or a bite to eat

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great pizza, phenomenal view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Excellent wood-fired pizza - we tried three kinds and all were good. The fish and chips ordered by the table next to us looked really good, too - and the local person we were with said there really isn't a bad choice on the menu. The view was phenomenal, stretching miles down to the water. Enjoying a beer and the breeze from the patio is a great way to pass a summer afternoon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We travel past the Hilltop regularly and now find it hard not to stop. The staff are young, enthusiastic and helpful. The food is of a very high standard. Our favourite starter is the bruschetta which is superb. The lovely thin based pizzas made fresh in the wood fired pizza oven are excellent. My favourite is Pigeon Bay.
The steak is cooked to perfection, and fish & chips or the hamburger make old standards classy again. Don't even think of leaving until you have tried the banana split which is cooked in it's skin in the pizza oven and drizzled with chocolate and rum and a hint of cinammon.
We dine out a lot in Christchurch and rate this restaurant as our favourite.
Oh, and by the way, the view from the Hilltop is to die for!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

A must to stop at and savor the wonderful view.

This was our lunchtime stop ......walking in to meet the friendly staff found this most welcoming combined with great food ......and of the course the view wonderful start to a visit to Akaroa.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a wonderful place to stop off and enjoy some nice food and very friendly staff. We didn't have long but the soup and scones were of a very good quality and not a bad price. Some of the items on the menu did look tempting and deserts amazing. Wish we could of stayed longer. A reservation is recommended if you require a window seat

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilltop Tavern also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hilltop Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.