We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Lot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast up Close

Coast up Close
Main Wharf Akaroa, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand
+6433048407
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Activities in Akaroa
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the fantastic coastline around Akaroa in a spacious and comfortable Kauri launch. Local skipper, Tony, takes small groups to view the amazing wildlife,including penguins,dolphins, fur seals, and spectacular rock formations and sea caves.Terrific photo opportunities!
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best of the Lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Unlike any other normal cruises, with Tony, you get lots of interaction. He is very knowledgeable and you get lots of information not just about the wildlife but also about the history of the coastline, geological as well as cultural. As this is a smaller sized boat, there are fewer passengers and this can only be a good thing as everyone gets to see and enjoy everything. We also got very close to the shore and this is when you get close to seals, birds etc. The dolphins were really friendly and we got to see ones with their young still with them. As an added bonus, Tony hauled up a trap he had laid earlier and his dinner was in it - a crayfish whose size was not matched anywhere else on our trip. This is a must-do and do it with Tony (Coast Up Close).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
florida, usa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Really Up Close”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Business is booming in Akaroa since the earthquake in Christchurch. There are many choices now to tour the harbor, and we chose Coast Up Close.
There's a lot to like about Coast Up Close, but a couple of disappointments. Let me start with the negatives. Tony, the skipper, has no mates and no help. He pushes off, steers, and gives the tour by his lonesome. Much of the time you will be drifting, with nobody at the wheel. We came close to hitting a stone wall when a 12 year old kid said " Tony, I think we're too close to that stone wall." Tony grabbed the wheel and steered out of danger.
Secondly, there is no PA system. When I questioned Tony about it, he said he would rather give information on a personal basis, but unfortunately, unless you are within 6' of him, you won't hear it. I'd rather hear everything he has to say over a PA.
But you will get in close to the action. You will see seals, you will see dolphins, and Tony has a sharp eye for birds in the area. The boat is small, so it won't be overcrowded. In addition, Tony is rather personable, and just seems like a nice guy.
I think you would be better off with Tony than on a large boat like the Black Cat. Also, you will spend 2.5 hours in the harbor instead of 2 hours with the big boats. Keep in mind, though, that the bigger boats are faster, which may explain the 1/2 hour difference.
Whatever you choose, Akaroa harbor is a nice place to spend a few hours.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek, California
1 review
“See my review of Coast up Close under Akaroa forum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I wrote a review under the Akaroa forum and don't know how to transfer it to this forum. You will love this nature cruise because the skipper is so personable and knowledgeable

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Personal Taylorism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked a group of 20 for our work do. Tony is a fantastic skipper who gave us plenty of options and we all had a fantastic experience. No complaints just lots of praise. Brilliant option! Thanks T

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennekom
1 review
“Great wildlife cruise with Coast up Close and skipper Tony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Everything we expected to see we saw. Tony did his very best and told us a lot about the wildlife, the scenery and history of Akaroa

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast up Close also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Coast up Close? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast up Close, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.