We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coast up Close - A hidden gem of Akaroa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast up Close

Coast up Close
Main Wharf Akaroa, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand
+6433048407
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the fantastic coastline around Akaroa in a spacious and comfortable Kauri launch. Local skipper, Tony, takes small groups to view the amazing wildlife,including penguins,dolphins, fur seals, and spectacular rock formations and sea caves.Terrific photo opportunities!
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coast up Close - A hidden gem of Akaroa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We arrived in Akaroa via cruise ship and had 1 day in Akaroa. Tony's friendly and informative approach made the morning cruise enjoyable for all. The weather was perfect and we saw plenty of wildlife and scenic coastline. It felt like our own private tour as we comfortably explored the Akoroa bay. Tony pulls the boat up close (thus the name of the company) so wildlife and landscape are easily viewed. Can pre-book via email. If sunny - pack sunblock and hats (boat has indoor and outdoor seating). Front of bow was best spot to view dolphins playfully swimming along with boat.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant even on a rainy, windy, cloudy day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Tony was recommended to us as THE boat trip to take in Akaroa and we were not disappointed. If anything, our experience was even better in the weather we went out in than if it had been a calm, sunny day!

Tony is such a natural skipper, such a character and so familiar with the harbour and wildlife, that you really do feel safely Up Close to the Coast.

Definitely a trip to repeat in the near future! Or maybe we'll charter the boat (with Tony of course) and take a small group of friends on what we know will be a very enjoyable time!!

Two things to note.

One, call ahead to see if Tony is going out. He sometimes takes charters out and so isn't available for the shorter tourist trips.

Two, if you get there and the wharf looks crowded with passengers waiting to get on the boat trips - they're not! Nearly all of them are waiting to get back out to their cruise ships.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Simply Breathtaking Journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Let Tony take you for a journey you won't forget. Wildlife in their element, on a beautiful sturdy craft. Personalised and private, beating the crowded tour boats around, as you get to see up close our NZ beauty. His tales and experience are second to none. Catering from 2 year olds to 80 year olds in style and comfort. We saw dolphins, penguins, jelly fish, seals and even a seal eating an octopus ( a 3 times in 20 year occurrence according to Tony). We swam in a private cove under his watchful eye, the water so clear you could see 30 feet down. Tony's professionalism and safety awareness were outstanding.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Overflowing with Wildlife!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

What a wonderful cruise!! Tony was an excellent captain and took us on a fun ride. We saw 50+ Hector Dolphins, a bunch of seals, birds and one lone penguin. It was great to see the coast so close. We got so many great pictures. Thanks Tony!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were advised by the local tourist information to go on this trip and we were not disappointed. Tony was an excellent guide and because he only deals with small groups we were given almost individual personal attention. I would recommend Coast up Close over the larger companies that sail out of Akaroa.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast up Close also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Coast up Close? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast up Close, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.