We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fragrant spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Thai

La Thai
69 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 8060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 22 Restaurants in Akaroa
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fragrant spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Nothing like decent Thai food.....great spot to eat or just call up for take out. Remember to book as it's very popular.

Food is great and reasonable prices. Enjoy.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    46
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and cheap meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

As the title says.... cheap but absolutely delicious food. I have never tasted Pad Thai like this before. Their lunch menu is $12 (NZ)... excellent value for money.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Meals and service good, they have a lunch special $12, which suited us for a casual meal.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Saturday dinner before the semi final!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

A very pleasant dining experience. The meals were tasty and substantial. Nice friendly Estonian waitress

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Best meal for years - price, friendly, speedy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Had a lunch today - great $12 specials. Had our own little bowl of extra chillis to add as we were unsure how hot we wanted it.
Very wide variety of food on the menu for lunch - we think it was the cheapest place on the Akaroa waterfront apart from Fish and Chips.
Great fresh ingredients, sauces not overpowering.

Would be great for dinner as well.
Great decor the lamp shades and umbrellas on the roow - also nice subtle authentic music.

We can't understand whilst other places offering meals for $25 were full while La Thai was pretty empty.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Thai also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to La Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.