We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hinewai Reserve

Hinewai Reserve
Banks Peninsula, Akaroa, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Akaroa
Attraction details
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A beautiful area with lots of walking-options. Never too many people. Quiet and peaceful. Lots of pretty signs, very clear where to go... Lots of variety. From bush to open space with beautiful views. Perfect for a few hours, or the whole day. Interesting visitorscentre too. And we heard lots of positive about the manager, but unfortunatly haven't met him :).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hinewai Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Deep forest experience taking you close to nature. Beauty at its heart.The soft ferns gave a body massage as you brushed passed them.Connection to the forest. This is cool.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our group of 4 Aussies and a Kiwi were lucky enough to be accompanied by two of Hinewai's legends on our recent 4 day walk on Banks TRack.
We learned more than you would ever read through careful explanation and sincere delight in all that surrounded us. Thankyou Hugh Wilson and Paul Newport - you made our walk unforgettable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent bird life in the Hinewai Reserve. Plenty of Tracks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you are completing the Banks Peninsula Track then day four you walk through the Hinewai Reserve. Or the Hinewai Reseve is easily accessed from Akaroa. This is a great place to walk for a day and listen to the bird song. Fabulous

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Oh my gosh, we found it easily enough, and the tracks were great, but it started to rain and pored and pored, and then we took a smaller trail and it led us all over and about. It was magical though because we went into the reserve while the sun was still shining and we came out of it soaking wet but with elation! I am certain that if we could have seen more than 50 feet in front of us, it would have been gorgeous, and it was still, but the hiking seemed endless in the forest and the canyons. I do have to say that I met a darling Tomtit and whistled to him and he followed us quite a ways singing back, he came to within 3 feet of me several times, super cute black/white bird.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinewai Reserve also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hinewai Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hinewai Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.