We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite port along our cruise route!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox II Sailing and Wildlife Cruise

Fox II Sailing and Wildlife Cruise
41 Muter Street, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand
0800 369 7245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Activities in Akaroa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail with dolphins in the crater of an extinct volcano on New Zealand’s oldest gaffed rigged ketch, the Fox II. Relax and soak up the sun, sea and hills or take part as one of the crew. See Hector dolphins, New Zealand fur seals, blue and yellow-eyed penguins, albatross and other sea birds. You will be surrounded by giant volcanic sea cliffs, caves and rock formations along the journey. A guaranteed highlight of you trip, that you will remember for the rest of your life.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
San Jose, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite port along our cruise route!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had an amazing adventure on the fox II. First of all, it was the perfect day! The weather was beautiful! One of the most beautiful places I've seen! The crew was wonderful, and the captain very informative. We saw a penguin in the water, and lots of dolphins. The captain played music that the dolphins love, so they would come follow us! We also saw seals on the rocks. We heard all about the history of the area, and he showed us all the beautiful cliffs, and bluffs along the bay. I would definitely do this again, and again!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A NZ Visit Highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Another very satisfied customer here. I won't add to the more recent reviews in terms of the marine life seen (we saw all of them) but will say that it was great to be given the chance to be an active participant in sailing the Fox II.

Skipper Roy also took us to see some fabulous rock formations, so this is a trip for everyone.

I was going to grouch about the rather intrusive music over the tannoy, but this was there to attract the dolphins & once it had worked was switched off. I was also disappointed that the video didn't show up but found it in my spam box on my return home!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I really loved this cruise. The boat is beautiful and not cramped feeling. Right out of the harbor, a group of dolphins swam right up to the boat and stayed for a long time. They followed the boat until we were further into the ocean. Then we saw penguins floating along. Then we saw seals. It was fantastic. They also took us along the coast and showed us some of the amazing New Zeland coastline. They finished up the cruise with beverages and cookies. It was truly amazing. The crew was very nice and it was truly a highlight of time time in NZ.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spectacular sailing and wildlife viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is the perfect size ship for an afternoon on the water in Akaroa, affording spectacular coastal vistas and up close viewing of the delightful Hector's dolphins--who seemed to enjoy following the ship and constantly criss-crossed sides as if on cue so everyone could get a good look. The American captain believed dolphins were attracted by certain songs he plays for them with the engine off, and whether it's a draw or just coincidence, we were not disappointed. Our captain shared lots of interesting information about the area and its history as well as the birds, trees, caves, and dolphins. Although we've seen seals and dolphins before in many parts of the world, this cruise was special. You really can't appreciate that the harbor is in the center of a former volcano until you're out on the water to see the nearly closed ring of coastal land. The company offered a free video and photos of our trip to boot! Do it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The highlight of our NZ trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This sailing trip was indeed the highlight of our 3 week tour in NZ. It was fantastic on all accounts and I would thoroughly recommend this experience for young and old alike. We really had a wonderful day thanks to the captain and crew, where we we so fortunate to get up close with lots of wildlife and learn a lot about the history of the local area. I especially enjoyed the soundtrack out on the headlands. Thanks again Fox II...what a wonderful holiday highlight!
KimberleyAustralia

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox II Sailing and Wildlife Cruise also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Fox II Sailing and Wildlife Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox II Sailing and Wildlife Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.