We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it. Book ahead.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Bistro

The Little Bistro
33 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa, New Zealand
+6433047314
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Akaroa
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: "...a bistro is a small restaurant serving hearty meals and wine in an unpretentious setting..." Rustic-European inspired, locally sourced food cooked and served with love, plus a winelist to die for....
Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Don't miss it. Book ahead.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The food was absolutely delicious, interesting, different and highly successful. The service was friendly, attentive and very helpful. Essential to book. The restaurant is not only very good but very small and consequently has two sittings (at least on the Saturday night we were there) at 6pm and 8.15pm.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    61
    17
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The reputation of The Little Bistro is the talk of Akaroa! - so we were not to going to miss the opportunity!! At 6.30pm on a Thursday night it was already buzzing a bit - we were greeted by the delightful Emma who told us the oven had blown up 30 minutes before opening! - small changes to the menu were therefore necessary but it wasn't a problem at all - they seemed to be taking it in their stride!! Amazing warm herb bread arrived along with some wine & we were underway - it was a great start & very efficient. More guests arrived - all greeted warmly & quickly seated - cosy ambience with a real vibe & so early in the evening too - it was fantastic! We took advantage of the 'midweek steal' - a choice of 2 specials of the day & a glass of house plonk ( their words!) for $25 - amazing!! We had a to die for risotto & the most delicately cooked piece of gurnard on a small mound of delectable bubble & squeak & char grilled veges - it was food heaven! Portion size was perfect leaving room for dessert! The chocolate whim of the day was a delicious dark mousse & we had a rhubard & berry compote with icecream/cream & some pieces of meringue - all served in an open kilner jar! The bill came & it was almost laughable that food of that quality could be so wallet friendly.
This was a wonderful experience in every way.
Word of advice - you must book!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“midweek steal deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very pleasant host & charming staff. To start a delicious tasty bread was served on vintage china.Choice of risotto (pea, asparagus & blue cheese) or gurnard on bubble & squeak with a glass of wine or a beer for $25. Both meals were beautifully presented & cooked. Tasty & we didn't have to season anything! We enjoyed the mains & decided on dessert... chocolate mousse & a ginger creme brulee. Both were well executed. First impression of the mousse was it was a smallish portion for the price however on tasting it, it became immediately obvious that it was very rich & a high quality chocolate had been used & any larger serving would have been wasted. The brulee was delicious. We were in the door early & it quickly filled up. As the name says, a "Little" Bistro. "A bistro is, in its original Parisian incarnation, a small restaurant serving moderately priced simple meals in a modest setting. Bistros are defined mostly by the foods they serve. French home-style cooking with robust earthy dishes, and slow-cooked foods like cassoulet, a bean stew, are typical." and that is what this restaurant does.Yes it is small & yes it can be noisy so pick a suitable occasion & enjoy. Despite the oven blowing up just before we arrived there was a sense of calm, alternatives offered with humour & aplomb. A good choice for a quick casual meal that doesn't involve a mountain of chips. Home made goodies such as quince jelly are for sale.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over priced, poor atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Went here for reviews off trip advisor. However once here this restaraunt lacked the atmosphere to an enjoyable dining experience. Too crammed in, music was quiet and had to whisper to each other or everyone in the room would hear our conversation about my undercooked veges on my plate. The chicken was cooked well however, would not be my first choice restaraunt in akaroa!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reluctant to recommend - I want it for myself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've had a few trips to this place and tempted to travel to the south island just for this. I would never go there and skip this experience. Wonderful food. A bit dim. Creative menu/atmosphere. Can I have a box for that?

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Bistro also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Little Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.