We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing, cute little spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables
Save
You added The Gables to your Saves list
Warnerville Road | Wainui RD2, Akaroa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, cute little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stopped in here on our South Island trip and simply couldn’t get enough of Akaroa or of this fabulous little place and its welcoming hosts.

Whatever you do, show up to breakfast with a good appetite – you won’t regret it!

Well worth the short drive out from Christchurch – even if only for a look at the fine gardens!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We spent the last two days of our New Zealand holiday at the The Gables and it was wonderful. The house, garden and sea views were a delight, the food superb, and our hostesses lovely, warm, friendly people. We felt so relaxed and happy in this unique place. A truly memorable experience and one we hope to repeat in the not too distant future. Gill and Paul Humphrey UK

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We had planned to visit Akaroa on a weekend but found that The Gables had no room the day we wanted to go, so we changed our plans to come a bit earlier than planned so we could stay here. We were not disappointed! The welcome we received was like being welcomed by old friends, with all the stops pulled to make sure we were comfortable. The sole guest room is very comfortable, with a plush bed that I slept very soundly in, and the lounge is full of books for guests to peruse. And what a great puppy they have!

We chose to eat dinner at the inn, since their cuisine came highly rated, and we enjoyed the meal immensely, especially since Lyn and Chris joined us for the main course so that we could chat with them and get to them a bit better. The same prevailed over breakfast, which was among the best we had in our time in NZ--homemade preserves with our toast, a lovely frittata and homemade granola. What could be better?

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western colorado
Level Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

This B&B has our highest possible recommendation. The hosts, both chefs, are very good at what they do, the farm is beautiful and comfortable. The en suite bedroom is lovely and guests have a large sitting room with a fireplace all to themselves as well as several porches, and a huge acreage with many outdoor rooms for sitting. Quality, professionalism, pampering, and aesthetic appeal are the most obvious things about The Gables, but there is so much else. We love the hosts, the setting, gardens, animals and pond. It is, simply, the measure we use to compare everything else to. There is no other place in the world we've been which measures up.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We have stayed at the Gables a number of times over the past ten years. It is located in the Banks, Peninsula, a spectacularly beautiful part of the South Island. Lin and Chris are charming and attentive hosts. Their meals are exceptional and unique, with almost all the food grown on the premises. The guest room is somewhat small, but very tastefully appointed. We always make a stay at the Gables a part of our itinerary when we are in the Christchurch area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

I found this B & B while looking for places to stay on the South Island. This Bed and Breakfast is tucked away across the bay from Akaroa. The ambiance of the house, the beautifully kept flower gardens, the organic vegetable garden and wonderfully landscaped grounds immediately won me over. The views of the bay and surrounding countryside are spectacular. The hosts, Lyn and Chris, are extremely accommodating to all your needs. There is one beautifully appointed guest room, so prepare to be pampered as you will be the only guests. Both hosts are chefs by trade and provide a delicious breakfast, as well as the opportunity to have dinner cooked for you for a fee. They have a menagerie of animals to enjoy during your stay which adds immensely to the experience.The area around Akaroa has plenty of things to do and experience. You can see little blue penguins and the smallest and rarest dolphins in the world, as well as, New Zealand fur seals. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast for a memorable kiwi experience.....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We just loved The Gables a delightful old country cottage set amongst a charming woodland and old -worldie garden. Lyn and Chris are warm and generous hosts with a passion for food and service. We had wonderful leisurely breakfasts and long interesting conversations about their home, garden and travels. Nothing was a bother and we felt relaxed and welcome to wander their beautiful garden and take advantage of the many 'sitting about places'. The views accross the harbour are stunning. Would definetly recommend The Gables and would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
3.2 mi away
Villa Vangioni
Villa Vangioni
#3 of 27 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
2.9 mi away
Akaroa Village Inn
Akaroa Village Inn
#15 of 27 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#5 of 27 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#4 of 27 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
2.9 mi away
Banks House Akaroa
Banks House Akaroa
#14 of 27 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Olive Grove
The Olive Grove
#7 of 27 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: Warnerville Road | Wainui RD2, Akaroa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.