We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Crop Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Crop Farm
Save
You added Tree Crop Farm to your Saves list
Banks Peninsula | PO Box 9, Akaroa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect weekend retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Loved the tree hut accommodation, the rambling old garden, 'the bush bath'...just the thing for a wedding anniversary stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

A wonderful place to visit and stay. We loved it so much the first time when we got engaged we went back there to get married - it was a great experience, so relaxed and natural, great atmosphere. Everything at TCF is boho-chic, oppulent colours, satin sheets, flowers and books everywhere and witticisms on the walls. Only problem for me (due to bad back) is the slightly squishy mattresses. Breakfasts are wonderful although very sweet (pain au chocolat, yoghurt and berries - wonderful for a treat but after 3 days I needed something savoury!) but we did have a couple of great savoury pies as well so we were very well fed. You host Lynnie is quite a character and pretty much leaves you to enjoy the place in peace which is perfect. She's got it sussed, so go and check out her loveshacks - they're great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

This place is totally unique, and inspiring. Lynnie has created a peaceful, fragrant sensual haven where you can simply BE and revel in the pleasures of the flesh!
The Lost Weekend hut right at the bottom of the amazing gardens and over its own bridge offers complete privacy and quiet. There is a burnished outdoor bath prepared lovingly with fresh herbs and soap on a leaf! There is a huge open fire in the hut to cosy up next to in the evening. (You may even be joined, as we were, by Slutty Pants, the aptly named cat!) There are flowers and candles everywhere. There is a wonderfully opulent bed with blue satin sheets, purple velvet devore quilt and roses on the pillow.
If you want 'all mod cons', this might not be for you, but what it lacks in plumbing it makes up for in romance...
Recommended for lovers with soul!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Steamy bath under the stars, lupin laden valley, possum skins, sheepskins, crafted candles, slippery sheets, bell birds, doves, herbs, healthy debates over healthy breakfasts, .......... all added up to a magical weekend! Thank you Linnie.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I think people should think very carefully about booking this accomodation.
The owner, Lynnie, gave us very little privacy as she actually joined us in the spa!!! Not very romantic. The kitchen was filthy and our room wasn't much better (I don't even think the duvet cover was changed).
Lynnie also walked in on another couple in bed whilst we were there.
There was no breakfast the next morning so we gave up at 12 noon and headed for town for food. When we arrived back she threw our dried up breakfast on the table in front of us....not even on a plate!
It is undoubtably a beautiful place with bags of potential, but as parents of two young girls we get very little time together and privacy/romance is what she is meant to be selling. This we most definitly did NOT get. And just because we were in a foreign country Lynnie is not excused from her selfish and rude behaviour

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treecropfarm, owner lynnie alexander at Tree Crop Farm, responded to this review, November 12, 2009
The two day booking made from overseas was not followed up with a deposit , credit card details or further contact ...it remained an unconfirmed booking .Staff here did not think the clients were coming, so the hut and the property were not ready. The duvet covers are not changed here every occupancy, as there is a top and bottom sheet provided . The clients did not wish to go elsewhere, so a frantic effort was made to accommodate them . They went to the village pub for drinks and dinner and did not return until between 9 and 10 pm . They did not contact in tnat time to say whether they were coming back or not.
They had an option, since no payment had been made, to find other accommodation. They did not do so, and this weakens the above complaint considerably.
The clients safety is the issue in the spa, and also in the outside baths with open fires underneath them, and also the traverse up to the tree house. Candles, excessively hot water and fires are a constant safety issue especially when mixed with alcohol. This concern is what accounts for a greater than usual host presence, especially in relation to the spa incident .You could say management were keeping an eye on things in the interest of the guests and the property's safe running. The spa was suggested instead of the outside bath which had been prepared though was now not going to be used. The guests do not have a stipulated time for breakfast, they can turn up when they wish. Sometimes if its not until lunchtime things can get a bit crunchy. Now,for the last issue .Clients who go out for dinner with a fire going always like to come back and find the hut cosy and warm, and the fire still going. The other couple staying this night we thought were in the village as their car was not parked outside the hut. Unfortunately they had parked on the road because our other guests just mentioned had taken their park.
They were not in the village , but when staff went into the hut to put wood on the fire they were already in bed early having eaten from their chilly bin. A genuine mistake and exceedingly embarrassing, but a sincere gesture of goodwill and service done with the guests romantic evening in mind.
The dishes were not done that day, and the floor not swept, but that does not make a place "filthy", it makes a place untidy! My staff say there is a big difference. I agree. The hut could have been better presented, more fresh flowers and candles etc but we had good reason to believe that this could be a garden and firewood day . My staff say they did their best under unusual circumstances... I agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I'm writing this review in mid May 2009 but even having had 5 months to take it all in I still don't think I can do justice to Tree Crop Farm. My partner had enjoyed a 3 week trip in a tiny (literally) camper van and this was to be our last night in it before our final night in NZ staying at Tangley on Clyde (seriously fab place too btw!) Anyway, we had a great wander up the road to the Farm and stopped in for a berry juice, had a wander around the amazing gardens - which kind of take you out of yourself somehow - and had a chat with Lynnie the owner - who was inspired to set up her own place after having a not so good experience when visiting Dovedale some 20 years ago!
Seriously, Tree Crop Farm is a lovely place to visit, even if only for a juice. It doesn't encourage the big bus tours so you can rest easy that you'll not be surrounded by screaming kids and snap happy folk. We got engaged here (after being together 12.5 years!) so maybe I am biased about how special this place is but maybe not, as we are seriously considering heading back to get married there.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Wonderful place to spend some quality time with your partner. Range of Love Shacks available. We stayed in the Verandah, bed inside with possum fur coverlet, open fire, candles and bunches of beautiful smelling roses strewn around. On the verandah another brass bed to sleep in the open air or lounge around during the day overlooking the gardens, which are wildly beautiful. Open air bathroom with shower. Bath under the stars allows you to sit outside and soak watching a myriad of stars while listening to music, drinking wine (byo) surrounded by more candles and flowers. Pure bliss!
Nice breakfast the next morning, lovely hot strawberry juice too. Very friendly hostess, gorgeous surroundings, what more could you want. It is rustic shabby chic NZ style.
Plenty of good walks around the area, or do what we did - go on the Banks Peninsula Track Walk for 4 days. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tree Crop Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Crop Farm

Address: Banks Peninsula | PO Box 9, Akaroa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Number of rooms: 29

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Crop Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.