We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel Boutique Hotel

L'Hotel Boutique Hotel
75 Beach Road, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand
03 3047842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 22 Restaurants in Akaroa
Price range: $15 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days, from 11am till close (Current Feb 2013). L'hotel is situated right on the water's edge, with panoramic harbour views. L'hotel has an extensive menu using fresh local ingredients, and also catering for food intolerances, with gluten free options on the menu. Perfect place to meet friends and family for a lively atmosphere and great food and wine.L'hotel has a great fully licensed bar and regular live bands!!
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were visiting Akaroa from a Princess Cruise in December 2012. I really wanted fish and chips, so the specials board out the front drew us in. We had a table out the front (not the footpath) which gave us a great view. The fish and chips were wonderful - nicely cooked, and not greasy at all. The meal came with a glass of local wine, which we really enjoyed, so we ordered a bottle. We couldn't fault the meal, or the service. Would visit again soon if I didn't live so far away!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    54
    19
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We'd booked so we had a lovely table with an awesome view of the water. Garlic bread with chilli sauce & sour cream was lovely. Fish & chips were really nice & huge. Hubby had fish of the day which was Groper with prawns & stir fried vegies, an awesome dish. Sauce was that nice that we would have licked the plate if no-one else was there. Found all the staff, especially our dinner waitress, to be very friendly & efficient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
below the snow line, unfortunately
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going back soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Visited as a group of 6, we were deciding what to order for starter. Three of us decided to share the 'Sharing platter for two' and when we came to order, our very friendly waitress discouraged us from ordering anything else - claiming that this would feed the six of us. It did, and how!
Mussels, fish goujons, prawn skewers, scallops, sausage, olives, two kinds of salami, bread, cheese, crackers (I know, cheese and crackers with a starter!) various dips and chutneys, it was huge - and everything tasted wonderful.
Onto the mains and we ordered a fair selection from what was on offer. I had the trio of salmon, I never order salmon in restaurants because it is often a bit bland but I had to make an exception in this case because it looked so intruiging. I'm glad I did, it was the nicest meal I've had in a long, long time. Others in my party ordered the monkfish, mussels and lamb - everone was delighted with thier choice and forkfuls of food were being shared between plates as we all tried to share the goodness!
Dessert was just as delightful as everything else, and all 6 of us agreed that we had had a wonderful evening.
I will be returning in a few days, bringing my daughter's husband - who was unable to join us that night due to work. I cannot wait to see his face when the sharing platter arrives!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Fish, Undercooked Vegetables”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We ordered Monkfish which was served with a mustard caper sauce and vegetables. Initially,the service was friendly and welcoming and the waitress was happy to shift us when we found that we were sitting in a draft.The fish was well cooked, although the sauce was a little bland. However we both agreed that that the beans and carrots were definitely undercooked. Our finished plates sat in front of us for at least for at least ten minutes while we finished our wine. A pity that the initial attentive service was not continued.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Really nice cuisine, service and options. So nice to sit and relax watching the harbour. Lots of people from the cruise liners coming and going. You feel like you are in another country. Well done little ole New Zealand!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hotel Boutique Hotel also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to L'Hotel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.