We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belgium - Rijkevorsel on the Black Cat in Akaroa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swim with Dolphins Akaroa - Black Cat Cruises

Swim with Dolphins Akaroa - Black Cat Cruises
Main Wharf, Akaroa 8841, New Zealand
643 304 7641
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$61*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is only one place on the planet where you can swim with the world's smallest and rarest dolphin - the Hector's Dolphin - and that is the beautiful sheltered setting of Akaroa Harbour. Black Cat Cruises has been operating on the harbour since 1985 and has won the supreme tourism award and the Qualmark enviro-gold award for its commitment to the environment. We have 4 purpose built vessels for swimming all designed for safety and comfort and there is a generous refund policy if by some chance you do not get the experience you hope for. All you need to to is bring your sense of adventure along with a towel and swimming costume; we provide the wetsuit, snorkel, mask, hot chocolate and hot shower. If you don't feel like getting wet you can also watch from the boat.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Rijkevorsel, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Belgium - Rijkevorsel on the Black Cat in Akaroa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was really an AMAZING trip!
The staff was incredebly friendly, good instructions before and during the cruise.
I would recommend it to everybody.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajoChristchurch, Manager at Swim with Dolphins Akaroa - Black Cat Cruises, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this great review on us. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    28
    6
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful swim with the Hector Dolphins. The tour is carefully controlled to ensure it stays a genuine experience with wild dolphins. The dolphins must show interest in the boat before the swimmers are allowed in the water and the boat will not chase the dolphins if they swim away.
We had 45 minutes of off and on interaction in the water as they kept coming back to check us out some more. The wet suits kept us warm for most of the swim and the hot chocolate afterward and then hot shower back at the wharf was lovely.
We had Meg and Steve who were both great and Steve especially made it a terrific experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajoChristchurch, Owner at Swim with Dolphins Akaroa - Black Cat Cruises, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's most appreciated and we will pass your comments onto the team. It's wonderful to have great feedback that we can share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“SWIM WITH DOLPHINS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

i was on orincess cruises and went on black cat on sunday 25th november 2012 the first session of swim with the dolphins. the host and the driver were fnatatsix had a great morning out there we got to swim with around 6 dolphins they were very playful fantastic trip to new zealand it was more than i expected thank you highly reccommended 5 star service

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajoChristchurch, Owner at Swim with Dolphins Akaroa - Black Cat Cruises, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks very much for giving us some great feedback. We are really pleased to have received your comments. He cruise ships are just so important to us in akaroa and we are very appreciative of your business. Great you had a good trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sea can be choppy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Obviously the weather and the mood of the dolphins are entirely up to Mother Nature .We did this trip and the sea got very choppy and the dolphins were way out to sea rather than in the calm waters of the bay.The water had such a swell that those in the water found it difficult to see the dolphins and folk on the boat had a much better view.
Several people on our boat were seasick so be aware that although you may leave a calm water in the bay once you are further out it gets very choppy.My advice is to take a "just in case " seasickness tablet.
Obviously the company cannot control the weather but they could be more up front to passengers....even though the sea was rough the trip following ours went out as usual and no mention was made to passengers to expect it to be choppy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajoChristchurch, Manager at Swim with Dolphins Akaroa - Black Cat Cruises, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As you said the weather is something completely out of our control. We do offer wrist bands to customers pre-boarding the boat if they would like them and every swimmer attends a briefing before going on the boat. The wildlife and water is all down to mother nature, which is the beauty, thrill and authenticity of swimming with dolphins in the wild.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a great way to spend your time in Akaroa. The guides are lots of fun and very knowledgable and passionate about the Hectors Dolphins. The company has high standards and aims to give you a great experience swimming with the dolphins. The 'icing on the cake' was the hot choc and biscuts handed out after our swim in the icey cold water!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swim with Dolphins Akaroa - Black Cat Cruises also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Swim with Dolphins Akaroa - Black Cat Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swim with Dolphins Akaroa - Black Cat Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.