We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vangionis Trattoria and Bar

Vangionis Trattoria and Bar
Rue Brittan | Corner of Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7714
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Vangionis Trattoria and Bar offers a unique experience in casual Mediterranean dining and atmosphere.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Enjoyed the meal very much and had a delightful waitress who was very attentive. We sat in the garden as it was a lovely evening but unfortunately my husband was bitten by an insect which caused him considerable discomfort for a week or so.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    63
    14
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It doesn't get much better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Vangionis got everything right when we visited. Excellent service from the eclectic wait staff, perfectly attentive without being over the top and very interesting to talk to. The food was exceptional in presentation, flavours, texture and portion size. All 3 starters we tried were outstanding - slow baked pork rib, calamari with chorizo and mushroom/polenta concoction were to die for. The seafood risotto and home made gnocchi main corses were two of our best meals for a long time. And the kds spoke very highly of the pizza! If you have only got time for one meal in Akaroa, make sure it is at Vangionis.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALLINA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A restaurant that ticked all the boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

It is not often that you find a restaurant that you get excellent service without being pretentious and the food and wines to match, my colleagues and I enjoyed a wonderful evening here with the delightful South American girl and Debbie looking after us. The hot smoked Salmon was cooked perfectly and the shoulder of goat I would fly from Oz just to savour the delicious flavour.
We tried a number of restaurants in Akaroa and were left rather disappointed or taken aback with the price!! Vangionis Trattoria is not cheap but for a really good night it should not be missed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“excellent Mediterrean restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A small intimate restaurant with fine food excellently presented. I had the in-house made gnocchi with chorizo and green lipped mussels......the best meal in 6 weeks in NZ

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food, service & ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We enjoyed tapas style food, good wine list and attentive staff in a warm, ambient setting. It was a really lovely experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vangionis Trattoria and Bar also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Vangionis Trattoria and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vangionis Trattoria and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.