We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Backpackers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halfmoon Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halfmoon Cottage
Save
You added Halfmoon Cottage to your Saves list
5849 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Barrys Bay, Akaroa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Luxurious Backpackers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

This is an excellent place to stay - we had a gorgeous purple room with a double bed and a bunk for our 14yo daughter. The view of the bay out of our bedroom window was lovely and the gardens of this property are beautiful. The kitchen is homely and the dining room and lounge are like you would get in an expensive B&B. Our only regret is that we only had one night to spend here. Great place to stay if you want to explore Onawe Peninsula.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We have been on a round the world trip staying in backpackers in California, New Zealand and Australia, and this was the best backpackers we have stayed in.

The house itself was stunning, as were the views of Akaroa Bay if you crossed the road out the front. It was like staying in a nice B&B with very comfortable rooms and living room. The kitchen was lovely and the gardens were absolutely wonderfully kept. And the prices were incredibly good value - I think it was around NZ$50 for a double room.

Wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We found Halfmoon Cottage on the BBH website which is a backpacker hostel network. Travelling with a small child and my in-laws, we were a bit dubious about staying at a backpackers' place but this was like a fantastic B&B without the breakfast.
Beautiful deck to sit on. Stunning garden to sit in. Great kitchen. Small enough to meet some new people but not be swamped (5 bedrooms, I think). Our bedroom looked out on to the water. Close enough to Akaroa to pop there ay any time but on its own so peaceful at night. Friendly hosts who gave us fruit from their garden to cook up.
One of the best value places I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

This backpackers is a lovely house set in gardens full of fragrant flowers and herbs, near the beach at Barry's Bay in Akaroa. There's a big veranda around the building which is perfect for relaxing on the sofas with a book. There's also a cosy lounge with log fire, a well-equipped kitchen and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The friendly owners have lots of information about what to see and do in the area, and there are nice touches like hot water bottles you can borrow in the winter. The prices are really reasonable with dorms from $25 to $60 for a double room. If you're staying there, I recommend visiting nearby Barry's Bay Cheese Co for great cheese and local wines.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Wow! As part of our travels through New Zealand for some R&R after six months working in Antarctica, we decided to visit the tourist destination Akaroa. Often we had no idea where we were going and never secured reservations more than a day in advance.

We called around that morning looking for a place to stay, and since it was a weekend in Akaroa everything was booked...so we looked a bit outside of downtown area and found Halfmoon Cottage.

We arrived, saw it, loved it, unloaded our things and drove into nearby Akaroa, walked around a bit, and quickly returned to the awesome retreat we had found instead.

LIKED: Clean. Well kept garden and plants. Extremely comfortable room (we stayed in pvt. room as the prices were great compared to back in U.S., but there are shared rooms as well). Great local affordable wine which you can buy by the bottle. Barry Bay Cheese nearby. Free bicycle use which we rode around nearby country roads and out to a great hike along the point. Small, but well-kept community kitchen.

DISLIKED: Nothing major to report.

OVERALL: We thoroughly loved this place. The surrounding area is great for day drives or walks. And the room and house make for a comfortable place to just hang around and read. ** Note: As are most of the backpackers we stayed at, please be aware that showers/bathrooms are shared.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We've stayed twice since '05 and couldn't be more pleased with the atmosphere, tidiness, and friendly hosts and guests. Easy drive to locations throughout Banks Penninsula and Akaroa. We'll return for certain on our next NZ voyage.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

This backpacker was an absolutely gorgeous home from home. Peaceful, beautiful rambling villa with cottage garden on shoreline of Barry's Bay. Large room beautifully furnished, electric blanket and teddy bear included. If you still weren't cosy enough there was an ample suppy of hot water bottles. My only regret was that I wasn't free to stay for a few weeks. Average backpacker prices too.

  • Liked — It was a nice surprise
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halfmoon Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfmoon Cottage

Address: 5849 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Barrys Bay, Akaroa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget world traveller accommodation with shared kitchen, dining room and lounge. Located in Barrys Bay at the top of Akaroa Harbour giving easy access to the town of Akaroa, its beautiful harbour and the surrounding volcanic remnants of Banks Peninsula. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halfmoon Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.