We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and what i found I was SAFE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirates Backpackers Fremantle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pirates Backpackers Fremantle to your Saves list
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
11 Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good and what i found I was SAFE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hello i am very new to this as its my only my second trip away but the trip here is were it began and as i havent been in many b4 this was an eyeopener but i felt good about it and all the people in Freo were nice and helpful and i now know about aussie football so thanks for my first time you have given me a standard

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    41
    9
    7
    19
See reviews for
Families
0
21
81
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hostel, very friendly and clean. Had a great atmosphere and the location is ideal for the Cappacino strip and Little Creatures. Stayed in quite a few hostels however we have not enjoyed them as much as Pirates. We loved our stay here and we'll be sure to be back soon :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Pirates backpackers is a small(ish) hostel right in the heart of Fremantle. The hostel has a good, friendly vibe which means everyone finds someone to talk to, no matter what time of the day you turn up in the cozy courtyard. The hostel is not too big so people get to know each other pretty quickly, a brilliant opportunity to make life-lasting friends from all over the globe! The building is not the newest one but staff do make sure it is cleaned and kept in good shape daily. They will also help you make the most of your stay around Perth. Location could not be better, walking distance to pretty much everything. Simply the best hostel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Dwi wedi aros yn yr hostel yma am saith wythnos, ag wedi mwynhau'n arw. Mae'n braf cael aros yn rhywle lle mae'r gweithwyr yn gofalu amdanoch, ag efo diddordeb ynddoch. Mae'r perchenog yn gadael i'r lle gael ei redeg gan y rheolwraig, sydd yn beth da oherwydd mae'n creu awyrgylch hamddenol. Mae gweithgareddau yn cael eu trefnu yn aml, rhai am ddim a rhai am bris rhesymol. Weithiau y bydd y perchenog yn trefnu trip i fynd allan ar ei gwch!

Room Tip: Mae'r stafelloedd ar y balconi yn medru bod dipyn mwy swnllyd, a dipyn yn llai hefyd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We had no idea what this meant (heh heh) so thanks to Google translator, here's what it roughly means in English....
I've stayed at the hostel here for seven weeks, as had a thoroughly. It's nice to stay somewhere where the employees care for you as interested in you. The owner let the place be run by the manager, which is a good thing because it creates a relaxed atmosphere. The activities will be organized frequently, some free and some for a reasonable price. Sometimes the owner will organize a trip to go out on his boat!
...by the way, the original language was Welsh !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Horrible, dirty, small dorm with 1 fan.
All the communal seating was outdoors so if it rained there was no where to sit.
Tiny, dirty kitchen.
Rubbish tv room.
We stupidly booked 1 week here and after the first night we wanted to leave but they refused to give us a refund. It was that bad that we took the financial hit and left anyway.
Staff were rubbish and were generally travellers themselves so not trained efficiently/at all.
This hostel is for people who are working in Australia and not travelling, it was very 'clicky'.
Overall it was horrible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We do not believe this reviewer stayed here at Pirates.

There were no guests who stayed here in December who paid for 1 week but only stayed 1 night and were not given a refund as they state.

Also the description does not even match Pirates Backpackers.
For example, we have ample undercover seating in the courtyard so that if it rains guests are not sitting in the rain as the reviewer suggests. There is also indoor seating.
The lounge room is very nice with comfy couches, a swing chair, table and chairs, plus 100's of free movies!
The staff actually live in Perth, and are definitely not “rubbish”. Anyone reading this, please feel free to pop in to Pirates whether you are staying here or not, and you'll see we have excellent staff, excellent amenities plus a excellent chilled vibe !

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

stayed in Pirates for just over 2 weeks and absolutely loved it! we were backpacking virgins so this was a bit of a gamble for us especially as we are over 50! we booked a private room so had our own fridge, TV, fan and most important for us - our privacy. we had to use the shared bathroom but this was never a problem as there was always a bathroom free when needed. the place was cleaned every day so it was always in good order. the staff are friendly and helpfull and really made you feel at home. everyone who was there was friendly and there was a real cosy atmosphere. all the other backpackers were fun and friendly and never seemed to have a problem with the fact that we were considerably older than them! it was very central in Freo so was close to every where we needed to go and close to the beach - a real plus for us! we also fell in love with Ceefa - the hostel cat!! only issue I had was that some of the backpackers seemed to have a problem cleaning up after themselves which meant the hard working Pirates staff had to clean up after them - not fair!

Room Tip: rooms at the front are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I came to Australia on working holiday, and things began to go wrong from the time I got here. It has been a really difficult trip laden with medical problems and general bad luck. But one thing that was awesome throughout the experience was Pirates.

I'm a quiet person and it can be difficult for me to make friends sometimes. But even I was able to make friends here quickly and get to know the staff, all of whom took the time to learn my name well before I'd mastered all of theirs. The friends I made there visited me in the hospital and brought me their own books and movies so I wouldn't be bored. After my surgery, they escorted me home in a cab and had arranged the whole room, including one girl giving up her choice bottom bunk for me, so I could move around it easier.

I'm a hemisphere away from my family, but the people at Pirates went above and beyond to help me and make sure I had what I needed to recover. The staff offered their cars to give me rides, their patience with the masses of forms I've had to fill out, and their compassion in checking on me and keeping up with my progress. None of these things were stuff they had to do or were asked for. Stuff just happened because I needed te help.

So yes. Pirates is a very clean and well kept hostel with an excellent location in Freo. They do awesome and affordable day trips which really help you get to know one another and make friends. People come here and end up extending their stays from a few days to a few months all the time, and they do it for a reason. It's cliche, but it really does become a home away from home. The people there give a damn, about the hostel and about the guests. So yeah, this is sounding cheesy by now, but I'm quite grateful for my experience there.

Stay friendly and awesome and stuff, Pirates. :) I won't soon forget the experience or the people I met here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pirates Backpackers Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Backpackers Fremantle

Address: 11 Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirates Backpackers is a small unique hostel situated right in the heart of vibrant Fremantle, where the owner and staff know your name! It's a secure and small hostel run by the energetic owner Vaughan, who along with brilliant staff will do everything they possibly can to ensure you have a great stay. We offer the following : - A small clean hostel right in the heart of Fremantle within 5 minutes walk of every attraction including the beaches -A huge variety of activities constantly on the go, including beach volleyball, surfing, diving, boating, rock climbing, scenic tours, dinners, quiz nights, bush walks, sunset drinks and more, all organised by Pirates. -Large individual lockers in your room with padlock provided -Sensational staff who are interested in you and are always here to help -BYO alcohol, saving you money -A brilliant courtyard with BBQ, pool table, table tennis and heaps of plants! A totally relaxing environment! This is truly your "home away from home". The hardest thing is leaving! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pirates Backpackers Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle Hotel Fremantle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.