We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge cottage, quiet and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fremantle Colonial Accommodation - Terrace House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fremantle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fremantle Colonial Accommodation - Terrace House
Save
You added Fremantle Colonial Accommodation - Terrace House to your Saves list
215 High Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Huge cottage, quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had booked to stay in the one bedroom apartment but received an email letting us know that we had been upgraded to cottage accommodation at no extra fee. We stayed in Cottage 4 and found it to be a very generously sized 2 bedroom house in a very quiet location next to the prison. The cottage was very comfortable, although the bed was a little squeaky! I would definitely recommend this accommodation as an affordable option in the tough to find Fremantle accommodation market.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We were so looking forward to our 2 nights stay at the Fremantle colonial accommodation. We stayed in cottage 6 next to the prison and were told on our arrival that there was no tv as the previous tenan'ts children had fiddled with the tv but that someone was going to fix it that afternoon. No one turned up and the owner came around that evening to say it would be the next day. On arrival we were peeved though to see the linen from the previous tenants on our line and as we had been on the road for several days we were keen to do some washing. We had to take the washing in before we could hang ours out after going up the street to get change for the pay washing machine and pegs to hang it. A cup of tea nearly caused injury on the canister with the broken opening. Day 2 still no tv and the elderly couple in the adjacent cottage also had no tv......they were there 2 days previous to us. When I rang the owner I was told that the repairman would be around at 10am the following day.....the day we were leaving and a Saturday and that these things happen. So in closing......good location very bad service and attitude by the owner.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We recently spent 3 days at the Colonial Accommodation and found it to suit our every need. We travelled with an infant and unlike many other accommodations of similar style upon request we were provided with a portacot and high chair at no extra charge, AND specifically given a room on the lower level, saving the worry of stairs. The court yard outside was gorgeous leading out to the car park and laundry. Kitchen was outdated with a funny smell but was functional.

The place had character and personally I would much prefer this to hotel accommodation. The key drop off/pick up others have complained about honestly I found perfectly convenient as I didn't have to worry about arrival/departure times. The instructions were clear and we had no problems. If you need a hostess though this probably is not for you. Also we had great sleeps didn't hear traffic or noise any of the 3 nights, our rooms were at the rear of the building.

For 3 of us for 3 days we might do with more than one bar of soap.... Probably if I had of asked we could've got another. Frankly if this is the worst thing I think it was a good 3 days!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed in Apartment 1 a delightful clean B&B (without the B) about a 8 minute walk to the vibrant downtown full of open air restaurants. Could I find fault with Apartment 1 with its bedroom, sitting room and full kitchen? No, except possibly the lighting e.g. a reading lamp on one side of the bed, not the other. As one ages one needs more light, as the world goes for curly-cue light bulbs to save the world at the expense of being able to read. Reverse-cycle air, full kitchen, flat screen TV, Kleenex, nice towels (but strangely only one washcloth), no view but off street parking.

Room Tip: Apartment 1 is on the ground floor and large. I'm not sure what any other rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed in one of the Prison Cottages for 2 nights and were very disappointed - it was musty, grubby and the kitchen had HUGE cockroaches running about while the towels were really old and washed out. Crockery was dirty and had to be scrubbed clean before use - the place seemed generally run down. There was a charge to use the advertised laundry facility which was actually shared with another cottage and the cleaners. We had Aussie friends call to visit us and they were horrified at the place. We had stayed in other old colonial accommodation while on our trip but they were spotless in comparison.

Room Tip: Avoid if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very nice rooms. Very clean. Comfortable. Everything worked. Only minor issue is the location, which is maybe 10 minutes from the cafe strip - but it's an easy walk.... Good value in Perth metro area

Room Tip: Ground floor at the back is a very nice self contained suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

This was like stepping back in time. Better still the owner, like myself was a kiwi so instantly, there was some kind of connection when we met. I had booked on the day as we had just returned from the states and I think we were lucky enough to get best accommodation in the terraces with seperate bathroom, kitchen, lounge/dining and separate bedroom. Absolutely loved the era of the property and almost made me want to rush out and buy myself something just like it. Although this was my second time out there, Fremantle itself is so worth the trip anyway. I could have done with at least another 5 days just to check it all out properly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
1.4 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#6 of 23 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arundels Boutique Accommodation
0.0 mi away
207 on High
207 on High
#7 of 23 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fremantle Colonial Accommodation - Terrace House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fremantle Colonial Accommodation - Terrace House

Address: 215 High Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Fremantle Colonial Accommodation - Terrace House Hotel Fremantle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fremantle Colonial Accommodation - Terrace House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.