We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle to your Saves list
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   15 Banister Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The location is great, walk to all the restaurants and can have a wine and not worry about driving. Room size although small was adequate to sleep, watch tv and shower, location made up for it, gorgeous old building with character.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Carly,

It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your long stay with us. Indeed, we are located in one of Fremantles top locations and we trust you were able to take advantage of our proximity to visit many of the city’s highlights. Hopefully, your memorable experience and nice impressions will bring you back to the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle in the not so distant future. Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

Yours sincerely,
Timothy Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
60
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a great time at the Hougoumont staying in a Superior Cabin. I was expecting a "Formula 1" style really small room based on other reviews so was pleasantly surprised that the room, while small, was perfectly adequate for our needs (a quiet crash pad at night from enjoying family and Fremantle). The staff were fantastic, polite, genuine and personal in their service - none of this conceited and pompous "sir" business with noses in the air that some places seem to pride themselves on. The happy hour is a great idea to meet other guests if you so choose. The little coffee machine in the room was good too but they should ban decaf in the shots distributed or make sure 2 others are available to choose. The Hougoumont is ideally located to enjoy all the best that Freo has to offer very easily accessible on foot. We'd definitely choose to stay there again when in Fremantle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Simon,

Thank you for staying at the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle. We are grateful for your review and for taking the time to post your views on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that overall you were happy with our location, service and facilities. On the other hand, we apologise most sincerely for the inconvenience cause with the decaf coffee instead of the real stuff. Rest assured I have shared your feedback together with our exec housekeeper who will no longer put decaf in the rooms unless on request. Thanks for the gift of feedback and your recommendation of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next travelling our way.

Yours sincerely,
Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I read reviews where people were not happy with the size of the hotel room, but honestly I found it fantastic.

Sure the bathroom is only suited for one person at a time but that suited me fine.

I expected the room to be tiny but there was well and truly enough space and quite frankly, it stopped it feeling so hostile as most hotel rooms do.

It was fantastic to be able to open a window and also to be able to control the airconditioning that worked superbly.

You are right in the heart of the cuppaccino strip. Yes you pay $22 a day parking but you can go in and out as you please. My previous nights hotel in the CBD was $30 each time I left! It already costs you to park in the streets here so really it is worth it.

Everything is at your fingertips and wifi is free (which is not that common) and a good speed with no measly little download limit.

The staff are very polite and helpful and the check in and check out process was very quick which was greatly appreciated.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to people.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Nic,

Thank you for your favourable review! We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel and we are pleased to know that all aspects of your stay have met your expectations. Your highlights on our caring service, comfortable rooms, and your enjoyable experience at the Hougoumont Hotel are most appreciated. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at The Hougoumont. I was so interested in the design of this hotel as its clear combining the old with the new is expetionally cool. As a regular business traveller - I loved that everything you needed from the room was contained in an economical space. Amazing finish to the rooms, with thoughtful touches. Staff were attentive and friendly. Location is outstanding - easy to pop out for a drink / dinner by foot. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi David,

It is wonderful to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us! We are grateful to receive such delightful feedback and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We hope your nice impressions will bring you back to the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Fabulous stay!! A great place to relax and get away. Friendly staff. Great location. Walking distance to the downtown streets and shops or anything that you might need.
The hotel is newly renovated and has beautiful clean rooms, bathrooms and décor. Great little touches that enhance your stay I highly recommend this hotel for pleasure, business or whatever you may be requiring.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Lesa T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and let our team know of the excellent service and excellent experience you had here. The team and I were thrilled to read your comments and we have all congratulated them on their efforts.

We certainly do look forward to welcoming you back very soon and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or Facebook so you can keep track of our specials and upcoming events.

Best regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is obviously very new and everything in the room was very clean. The real downfall is the size of the rooms. They are incredibly squashy. The shower is literally at the foot of the bed.
Location is great. Literally just off the main strip but not noisy at all.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We very much appreciate your review on the tripadvisor web site; every day our motivation is to give our guests the fun and relaxing experience they are looking for and to enjoy Fremantle and its sites. You are very correct in the fact we have small hotel rooms, just 18 square meters. You would also see that we are always the cheapest in Fremantle and offer guests other extras such as Free Wifi, Free Wine and cheese every weeknight, Free Nespresso Coffee and Free Use of the business center.

We hope to see you back at the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle soon.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

What a great little place to stay. New, fresh and really nicely fitted out. The complimentary wine and pizza happy hour is a really nice touch and a nice way to start your stay. The beds were very comfy and the nespresso coffee in the rooms are a nice way to wake up. Being right in the centre of Freo is fabulous. We wish you the best with your new hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello

What a fabulous review of your recent stay with us. Our team are so delighted and very proud to read such a wonderful description of your experience and we are glad you enjoyed the wine and cheese evening. We certainly look forward to seeing you visit us again one day soon.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle

Address: 15 Banister Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome aboard the Hougoumont. Business or pleasure, the Hougoumont offers affordable luxury accommodation for the mobile, modern citizen in the heart of Fremantle. Your selection of accommodation comprises Superior Cabin and Stateroom. Opting for style and substance over unnecessary space, each lodging combines luxurious comfort with ultimate connectivity, including smart TVs and free Wi-Fi. 
 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.